Personality test: Melancholy Sanguine

Update as of 11/8/11: It appears the link to the original personality test I took is no longer valid. A quick temperament test is found at writing.com if you scroll past the four temperament descriptions. I have provided the link to it here for your convenience: http://www.writing.com/main/quiz/item_id/1145443-Temperament-Test. Keep in mind: links don’t remain active forever so enjoy the link for however long it lasts. View my latest post on the DiSC assessment personality test here.

So I took this personality test and it told me I was Melancholy (45%) Sanguine (23%). I found the strengths and weaknesses of the Melancholy personality (much more so than Sanguine) describe me rather accurately. I starred the things that I thought described me (I’m guessing on the parent part).


Strengths of a Melancholy
The Introvert | The Thinker | The Pessimist

The Melancholy’s Emotions
*Deep and thoughtful
*Analytical
*Serious and purposeful
Genius prone
*Talented and creative
Artistic or musical
*Philosophical and poetic
*appreciative of beauty
*Sensitive to others
*Self-sacrificing
*Conscientious
*Idealistic

The Melancholy As A Parent
*Sets high standards
Wants everything done right
Keeps home in good order
Picks up after children
*Sacrifices own will for others
*Encourages scholarship and talent

The Melancholy At Work
*Schedule oriented
*Perfectionist, high standards
*Detail conscious
Persistent and thorough
*Orderly and organized
*Neat and tidy
Economical
*Sees the problems
Finds creative solutions
Needs to finish what he starts
*Likes charts, graphs, figures, lists

The Melancholy As a Friend
*Makes friends cautiously
*Content to stay in background
Avoids causing attention
*Faithful and devoted
*Will listen to complaints
Can solve other’s problems
*Deep concern for other people
Moved to tears with compassion
Seeks ideal mate

Weakness of a Melancholy
The Introvert | The Thinker | The Pessimist

The Melancholy’s Emotions
*Remembers the negatives
*Moody and depressed
Enjoys being hurt
Has false humility
*Off in another world
*Low self-image
*Has selective hearing
*Self-centered
*Too introspective
*Guilt feelings
*Persecution complex
Tends to hypochondria

The Melancholy As A Parent
*Puts goals beyond reach
*May discourage children
*May be too meticulous
*Becomes martyr
Sulks over disagreements
*Puts guilt upon children

The Melancholy At Work
*Not people oriented
*depressed over imperfections
Chooses difficult work
Hesitant to start projects
*Spends too much time planning
Prefers analysis to work
*Self-deprecating
Hard to please
*Standards often too high
*Deep need for approval

The Melancholy As a Friend
*Lives through others
*Insecure socially
*Withdrawn and remote
critical of others
Holds back affections
Dislikes those in opposition
*Suspicious of people
Antagonistic and vengeful
Unforgiving
Full of contradictions
*Skeptical of compliments

Strengths of a Sanguine
The Extrovert | The Talker | The Optimist

The Sanguine’s Emotions
Appealing personality
Talkative, Storyteller
Life of the Party
Good sense of humor
Memory for color
Physically holds on to listener
*Emotional and demonstrative
*Enthusiastic and expressive
*Cheerful and bubbling over
*Curious
*Good on stage
*Wide-eyed and innocent
Lives in the present
*Changeable disposition
*Sincere at heart
*Always a child

The Sanguine As A Parent
Makes Home Fun
Is liked by children’s friends
Turns disaster into humor
Is the circus master

The Sanguine At Work
*Volunteers for Jobs
thinks up new activities
Looks great on the Surface
Creative and colorful
*Has energy and enthusiasm
Starts in a flashy way
Inspires others to join
charms others to work

The Sanguine As a Friend
*Makes friends easily
Loves People
*Thrives on compliments
Seems exciting
envied by others
*Doesn’t hold grudges
*apologizes quickly
Prevents dull moments
*Likes spontaneous activities

Weaknesses of a Sanguine
The Extrovert | The Talker | The Optimist

The Sanguine’s Emotions
*Compulsive talker
*Exaggerates and elaborates
Dwells on trivia
Can’t remember names
Scares others off
Too happy for some
*Has restless energy
Egotistical
Blusters and complains
*Naive, gets taken in
*Has loud voice and laugh
*Controlled by circumstances
Gets angry easily
*Seems phony to some
*Never Grows Up

The Sanguine As A Parent
Keeps home in a frenzy
Forgets children’s appointments
*disorganized
Doesn’t listen to the whole story

The Sanguine At Work
*Would rather talk
forgets obligations
Doesn’t follow through
*Confidence fades fast
*Undisciplined
*Priorities out of order
*Decides by feelings
*Easily distracted
Wastes time talking

The Sanguine As a Friend
*Hates to be alone
Needs to be center stage
*Wants to be popular
Looks for credit
dominates conversations
Interrupts and doesn’t listen
answers for others
Fickle and forgetful
Makes excuses
Repeats stories

Anything you think I might have missed about myself or got wrong?

41 thoughts on “Personality test: Melancholy Sanguine

  1. This test is very beneficial. It is descriptive in nature and not necessarily prescriptive for change…scripture is plenty sufficient for that. Interestingly though, you mentioned that you had sanguine and melancholy in you…those are opposite in traits. According to some experts, “wired that Way”, Personality Plus…etc, one of those traits is a mask and not the true “you”. At the risk of scaring readers, this is not a “bad thing”, just something to grow through.

    For what it’s worth…

  2. i want to know where i belong pls. i love where everybody is happy, am too emitional, understand behaviour more than langauage, forgetful of names, finds it hard to fall in love, shy talking to opposite sex, when in love loved by the partner to the extent they ask me to marry them, love being farnk, truthful, diplomatic, easy going, know somethings but at times claim not to know in order not to make mistake. love sex but afarid of indulging into it. hates anything negative. uses many words to explain things. cannot propose love if not sure of you. pls where do I belong? who can i marry as a wife, afriad to make mmistake

  3. Hi , I am a Sanguine – Melancholic as well (58% San , 38% – Mel – 4% Choleric) . Now I do know one of these has to be a Mask which unknowingly has taken life during my childhood, but by far this has been the toughest question for me to uncover . I have put my self in many real life situations, I still get this score and damn , the Mask is yet to be found .. Has any of u been successful in identifying the Mask . Also in our society or in personality books they always mention traits of a sanguite to pick up .. Now i guess this is where they might be missing the fact that Other personality traits are also pretty much good if taken in the right way . I just get the feeling I was born sanguine ( And hence.. keep forgetting things and have loads of so called best friends but very few really close friends ) . The worst thing is that I love to plan things in advance but ultimately end up being a Sanguine when the time come to execute em !!!

    1. Megh Melancholy sanguine are opposite in characteristics because one is extrovert and other is introvert. one is highly perfection oriented and the other is highly fun and lime light oriented. In your case as you are showing your results 58% san 38% Mel – though you have not showed the phlegmatic % – i assume you have very less in phlegmatic too. But as you are mentioning again that you think you are by birth sanguine because you keep forgetting things and loads of friends – yes it showed that your primary temperament is sanguine – but if you are having those % in melancholy – it can be masking – which generally people have either to survive or to prove something otherwise. And masking is there in lots of people because we usually live dual life. But it is better that we understand the masking and dont try to be something else what we are originally not. (Mahesh Sharma – http://www.knowyourtrueself.org. Life & PASSION coach.)

  4. Hi!
    I just read the description about melancholy and ALL of it sounds just like me XD so weird! I wanna do this test so badly but the page won’t load correctly D:

  5. I love this site, and this post especially. I am also the sanguine-melancholy person 😀

    I feel good when I’m not the only one

    Thank you!

  6. the test is really nice:) can i have the questions with the scoring so that i can score it for myself and my friends

  7. I wanted the Malancholy sanguine type Test and the scoring u had it on your site some time back. but cant find it now. your link has the online scoring and 4 temperaments. but i wanted the one having all dimensions on Malancholy and Sanguine type from work, parent to Friend with
    scoring. it will be really nice…
    Thanks

  8. I dont need to take the test to know im mainly a melincholy and sanguine, meloncholy is more prominent in my personality though, yet im bubbly and silly like a sanguine 🙂 although I def. have the weaknesses of a meloncholy. Im shy… social anxiety shy and I guess the mask I portray to most [b/c im so quiet] is phelgmatic. It seems like nothing bothers me when thats far from the truth.

  9. Hi there, simply was alert to your blog through Google, and located that it is really informative. I am gonna be careful for brussels. I’ll be grateful in the event you continue this in future. Numerous people can be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  10. I really liked this page, because I scored as a melancholy/sanguine with the exact number of points for each, but the test I took had the fifth type included, the Supine. I scored only two points less on the Supine than I did on the melancholy and the sanguine. The choleric and phlegmatic were way down on the scale. I am a technical writer by profession, but by preference I would write novels because I am very artistic and creative. I know these personalities LOOK to be at opposite ends of the spectrum, and someone commented above that one of the types was a mask. I do not agree with this mask assessment at all. I am very intense, I have very high standards, I am very sensitive, and I do need a lot of alone time. I can isolate just like a female Howard Hughes, and I battle depression on an ongoing basis. The intensity of my emotions causes me unending personal pain, because I am so easily hurt by others. I am extremely loyal, compassionate, faithful, and devoted. I would die for a friend.

    However, on the flip side, on my “up” days, I love being around people, and I can sparkle and shine with the best. I can easily talk to a stranger in a grocery line, or on a bus or train, and have them telling me their life story within minutes, because I am understanding and engaged with them. They know that I care, even if they are a stranger, because I am genuinely interested. I am a very spiritual person. On the other hand, I am very disorganized and my house is a mess. However, I tend to keep things very neat and organized at the office. I love to tell stories, and I am very engaging.

    Outwardly, I am an extrovert, but inwardly I am an introvert, if that makes sense. Most people would never dream that I am actually shy, and sometimes force myself to interact with others until I warm up. I am easily hurt, but I find it easy to forgive as well. I don’t hold grudges. I am often forgetful, and sometimes don’t do well with follow up. Sometimes I have a problem with focus, and I have been diagnosed with Attention Deficit Disorder. I don’t believe that any part of me is a mask, I just believe, like the author of this page, that I am a more complex person than most!!

  11. I LOVE this post!! My boss had us all take this quiz, it was soo interesting! I am a San/Chlor.. and I pretty much fit the profile! I found this blog because I was searching for the test we took.. I lost mine and wanted to show it to others..

  12. You cannot be a melancholy sanguine. They are complete opposites and it is literally impossible. Choleric and phlegmatic are also opposites, meaning you cannot be a choleric phlegmatic. There is no way you can be a melancholy sanguine. The sanguine is social, haphazard, fun oriented, no attention to detail and not at all deep. Melancholys are deep, detail oriented, ordered and precise, hard time making friends, tendency to be dull. As you can see, they are opposites. It is impossible to be a melancholy sanguine. You can have some sanguine traits if you are melancholy. SOME traits, as in a few.

    Hope that didn’t sound too mean. Just trying to clarify 🙂

  13. HI Kate;
    I know it’s been said that one cannot be a melancholic-sanguine, that it is impossible. However, there are those of us who find so many traits of both those temperaments in us that nothing else (other than mel-sang) makes sense. Now, it may not be the most perfectly mentally balanced that a body can be! But until you’ve been in the shoes of a mel-sang, perhaps be careful of saying that it’s impossible. I can assure you that being a mel-sang presents its own set of challenges, just as any other temperament combo does. Coming up with idea after idea (sang) and then trying to follow up in depth with each/all of them (mel) is a problem mel-sangs can deal with. Noticing that it happens, establishing priorities, and working to concentrate on what’s most important (instead of investing just as much time/effort in pursuits like tracking down the whereabouts of the first edition of each Jane Austen novel, for example) are ways of dealing with that particular challenge.

    I don’t mean to sound critical; I only want to help you see that textbooks aren’t always completely accurate 😉

    1. You are right MargoB that it is not impossible to have this combo of Mel-San. There are many who have these combo – but observation and experience says – yes people have this combo as their temperament but in most of the cases one of this opposite traits is a masking. Means one of these traits is developed or taken as masking to survive or to tackle a permanent situation. Like a person who is pure sanguine but due to the early life responsibilities of the family or something else like that – he has to put of the mask of melancholy – to survive in that particular situation. And now after twenty years in that mask – it became a part of his overall personality – but he still is a sanguine by nature.

      – (Mahesh Sharma – Life & PASSION coach : http://www.knowyourtrueself.org )

  14. i do have most of y traits being that of a mel and with san traits sufficing almost all the times, but not as much as the mel traits does. i agree they are opposite, yet, that is what i exhibit. no wonder friends and relative find it difficult with me- quite and with myself alone most of the times, in a while i want to play and create some humor. “we won’t see him again,” is what they say to mean i will disappear and appear once in a blue moon to have fun.

  15. In my eternal quest to find me, I stumbled upon this article and instantly recognized my
    personality traits as being melancholy…at last, 68 + yrs into my “journey” and I have a
    better understanding of where I’m comming from…I always found myself to be a contradiction
    to everything; introverted at times the opposite and the list goe’s on….thank you !

  16. HAI, I’m sanguine and the second are melancholic and phlegmatic that are in balanced., sometimes there’s a swing in my own temperament blend.

  17. Did you write this? If so I think it shows. Melancholies are also extremely hard on themselves. In reading through the list of weaknesses of sounded like someone was taking a bat to the melancholy, not really understand what they wrestle with internally, but it sounds like whoever wrote it went easy on the Sanguine. At first I thought whoever wrote this has a hatred towards someone they know who’s a melancholy. Melancholies tend to see rejection when it isn’t there. I wouldn’t say they are self centered at all. That would be a Sanguine who has a hard time seeing how their actions effect others and seeing how they contribute to cycles of behavior. They also thrive of being the center of attention. Melancholies shy away from attention so I’m not sure where you got a Melchancoly is self centered.

  18. How did it make you feel saying one was a mask? Makes me really sad, I’m not a fake! I don’t fake any of the melancholy; I am the sum of my experiences and none of that was fake. I’m struggling with this “mask” thing as it implies I’m a liar and faking and I’m not. This really sucks.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.