My Introduction to Postpartum Progress (Part I)

My first introduction to Postpartum Progress (PP) was back in 2008, where I blogged at depression introspection about all things mental health. I certainly do not have the time nor the interest to devote that kind of attention to the blog again, but through my blogging over there is when I first discovered PP.

Even though Katherine Stone had been blogging about postpartum mood disorders (PMADs) since 2004, I felt as though she were almost a competitor. (I mean, really, what the hell was I thinking—she was in a niche subject and WAY out of my league.) She had tons of followers, tons of commenters, and I wanted alllllllll of that and a bag of chips. (Note: I started to get that, got a massive panic attack, and abandoned my blog ASAP. I couldn’t handle my blog blowing up. It was too much pressure.)

But regardless, I acknowledged PP as a valuable resource. I linked to it many times and included it on my blogroll as a mental health resource.

I followed Katherine as she advocated for The MOTHERS Act. I followed Katherine after Gwyneth Paltrow admitted to having difficulties after the birth of her son, Moses. And I even passed along the Postpartum Dads Project that Katherine recommended as a resource.

(FYI: We were all on the Typepad platform because Typepad was ALL the rage in the late 2000s, see Katherine’s updated links:
Time Magazine Skips Facts on Postpartum Depression
Gwyneth Paltrow Suffered PPD
PPD News as the New Year Begins…)

I stopped blogging regularly on the site in May of 2010 as I began to struggle with infertility. I never thought I’d be part of the exclusive sisterhood called “motherhood.” And it was painful for me to even think about advocating for mothers at a time when I needed to advocate for myself and others who so desperately wanted to become mothers.

On Twitter, however, somehow I ended up following Lauren, the founder of #PPDChat. Long before I ever knew I’d have children, I saw Lauren reaching out to moms dealing with PMADs. I thought it was cool, but to be honest, I never really gave it much of a second thought beyond on that. I never thought I’d need it for myself.

After I finally had my son in February 2014, I “listened in” on #PPDChat on Monday nights and really began to identify with the topics, questions, and answers. I began to jump in. I guess my answers were concerning. Lauren encouraged me to reach out for help. She directed me to Postpartum Progress.

Postpartum Progress. Ah, that site. Between 2009 and 2014, it had totally slipped my memory.

Katherine Stone personally reached out to me to make sure I was OK. Several times. Susan, affiliated with PP, also reached out to me to make sure I was OK. Several times.

I began receiving care at the Postpartum Stress Center in Rosemont, PA. They assured me that the counselors and therapists there would take good care of me.

And so began my journey with Postpartum Progress. This organization that had reached out to me—personally—once I’d reached out to them.

Read Part II here.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.