Home > Christianity > Why I May Never Hold a Church Leadership Position

Why I May Never Hold a Church Leadership Position

Well, a woman is one reason.

But even within the gender, I am never in a neat theological line. Perhaps I tend to fall within conservative, orthodox beliefs but many of my views on social issues are rather liberal, to use political terms. This does not make me a neat orthodox Christian.

I’m also rather opinionated. It’s hard for me to toe party lines because I think so differently. But in a way, the idea that I’ll probably never serve as a Christian leader makes me sad because I think I’d love to discuss theology with women that has a practical basis and watch ideas and actions take flight. I’d love to be a catalyst who spurs Others to action.

But alas, God didn’t make me that way and any illusions of me being some kind of leader must be killed. I am not a born leader. I do not inspire others, and as long as I’m keenly aware of that (despite what I desire), I’ll be okay.

Just gotta figure out how to be a fantastic Jesus follower.

  1. March 24, 2011 at 8:49 PM

    Don’t give up on becoming a leader some day. I am not a leader but I am trying to learn more about how to be a leader in some way by being on my church’s council. I also suspect that there is someone in your church that is watching you. I don’t want to be a role model for anyone but an older aged lady has opened her Bible for the first time partially because of me. She is now asking pastor, me and others questions.

    • Kass
      March 25, 2011 at 9:58 PM

      Perhaps someone is watching me although I doubt it. I have enough spiritual struggles in which I probably wouldn’t be looked to for anything.

      • Ren
        March 27, 2011 at 7:29 PM

        Sometimes the way we struggle is exactly what people need to see.

  2. March 26, 2011 at 9:21 AM

    Leaders who spin well come off as natural. Leaders who grow in character and then learn to communicate well are developed by God.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

