Why I May Never Hold a Church Leadership Position

Well, a woman is one reason.

But even within the gender, I am never in a neat theological line. Perhaps I tend to fall within conservative, orthodox beliefs but many of my views on social issues are rather liberal, to use political terms. This does not make me a neat orthodox Christian.

I’m also rather opinionated. It’s hard for me to toe party lines because I think so differently. But in a way, the idea that I’ll probably never serve as a Christian leader makes me sad because I think I’d love to discuss theology with women that has a practical basis and watch ideas and actions take flight. I’d love to be a catalyst who spurs Others to action.

But alas, God didn’t make me that way and any illusions of me being some kind of leader must be killed. I am not a born leader. I do not inspire others, and as long as I’m keenly aware of that (despite what I desire), I’ll be okay.

Just gotta figure out how to be a fantastic Jesus follower.

4 thoughts on “Why I May Never Hold a Church Leadership Position

  1. Don’t give up on becoming a leader some day. I am not a leader but I am trying to learn more about how to be a leader in some way by being on my church’s council. I also suspect that there is someone in your church that is watching you. I don’t want to be a role model for anyone but an older aged lady has opened her Bible for the first time partially because of me. She is now asking pastor, me and others questions.

    1. Perhaps someone is watching me although I doubt it. I have enough spiritual struggles in which I probably wouldn’t be looked to for anything.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.