Home > Careers & Jobs, Personal > Learning Experience — Part VI

Learning Experience — Part VI

February 25, 2016 Leave a comment Go to comments

This is Part VI, the final part of a 6-part series of posts. To start from the beginning, click one of the following links:

An opportunity for another job presented itself shortly after our conflict. I had already had one foot in the door as a former freelancer, and I was eager to get the other foot in, simply to get away from Karina. I took a day off, interviewed, put my best foot forward, and left it in God’s hands. I later learned that the team loved meeting me, I aced my editing test, and that a job offer would be coming soon. I asked for a pay raise but didn’t care if I ended up with the same salary with a city tax that would cut into my wage. I simply wanted to be away from my boss.

I was offered the position on a Friday, accepted the offer over the weekend, and was giddy to hand in my resignation on Monday. My boss said she’d be in meetings all day but I told her I only needed 5 minutes of her time.

When I finally caught her, I closed the door to her office and handed her an envelope with my resignation inside. I said, “I wanted to talk to you to let you know that I am resigning from my position, effective 2 weeks from now.” She looked at the envelope and looked up at me. Then she said, “Thank you.” She opened the envelope and read the letter that said the same thing I had just said out loud. She looked back at me and said, “Thank you for this.”

No counteroffer. No “Is there anything we can do to get you to stay?” Nope. None of that. I was doing her a favor by leaving. I even said, “Now, you can hire someone else, have them be your employee, and run your department your way without any resistance.” She simply nodded.

I ended our meeting with, “I just think you and I have personalities that clash and that it’s best to part ways at this time.” She nodded again and said, “I agree.”

And that was that.

Later in the day, she sent out a form email with the following formatting:

Kass has decided to move on from her position as our company editor. She has accepted another position. While we are sorry to see Kass go, we are happy for her, and wish her the best.

We’d also like to thank Kass for her hard work and thoroughness. Not only has she been a valued team member, she has contributed to the company’s success and made good friends who will miss working with her on a daily basis.

Our freelance editor will continue to work very closely with [the remaining editor] to ensure that we meet editorial jobs for all of our accounts. We will also bring in additional support to make sure we are adequately positioned to meet the anticipated increase in jobs.

Just so you’re aware of how much thought she put into that email, here’s the email she sent out for Jane’s departure.

Jane has decided to move on from her position as our company’s senior editor. She has acceped [sic] a role with another company. While we are sorry to see Jane go, we are happy for her, and wish her the best.

We’d also like to thank Jane for her hard work and thoroughness over the last 7 years. Not only has she been a great team member, she has contributed to the company’s success and made good friends who will miss working with her on a daily basis.

Congratulations, Jane! We know you will do well in whatever you choose to do.

Stay tuned for details about a goodbye celebration.

And yes, in my email, she really did have a different colored font for the instances in which she dropped in differences between mine and Jane’s email. Notice the lack of congratulations and details of a farewell celebration.

I spoke to the president of the company and basically let him know she is the ONLY reason I am moving on from my position at the company. I love the team, I love the company, I love what the company is doing, however, I can no longer work for someone who wishes to impose her authority over me rather than collaborating with me. Because the company culture isn’t authoritative; it’s collaborative. That’s why I wanted to join the company for so long after having been a freelancer. Now, I’m going out the door.

Many of my colleagues want to go to lunch or are taking me out to lunch. We have that comfortable working relationship that I have always craved and I wouldn’t hesitate to return to the company if working conditions (namely, her) change. They have all expressed their sorrow over seeing me leave and have, in separate instances, told me that they’d much rather see me stay and have another particular person depart.

Honestly, I don’t think she’ll be there forever. She will try to make this her last position, I’m sure. But she does not reflect the company culture. How many more employees will need to be abused and leave under her “leadership”? Maybe she’ll settle down once she’s got the team that she wants. But I expect, one day, to be able to return to the company as an employee.

Without her presence.

 

Categories: Careers & Jobs, Personal
  1. February 25, 2016 at 11:45 AM

    Good for you. You handled that with a lot more grace than I would have.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

