Home > Mental Illness, Motherhood, Personal > Philadelphia Climb/Hope

Philadelphia Climb/Hope

You turn the radio on
Play your favorite song
And cry
(Cry)
~Sarah McLachlan: In Her Shoes~

I’m battling. Warrior mom FTW (For The Win).

I want to share how my day at the Philadelphia Climb Out of the Darkness event went. It was fantastic.

ClimbOutI met several amazing and inspiring women who had been through some form of perinatal or postpartum mood and anxiety disorder. It meant a lot to me because the women there were able guide me out of darkness and into light. Even, if only, for a few hours. I was able to watch children happily run around, share my story with other women, and receive an amazing massage. I also was able to receive 3 hours of doula care from Main Line Doulas. I connected with a sweet n’ sassy counselor at the Postpartum Stress Center. The event organizer for Philadelphia, Heidi, is an amazing woman who encouraged me with her own story of climbing out of the darkness. And to meet Heidi’s mom, the official photographer, was such a blessing because it reminded me that we all can find support from somewhere.

YahooOutlook

I was originally supposed to meet up with a more local group at Valley Forge but due to communication issues (I’m looking right at you, Yahoo! Mail), I missed out. But that’s all right because I connected with the climb leader, Christy, who is A-MAY-ZING. My husband believes I was able to make a better connection with her as a result of my email snafu, and I have to say it’s been a blessing just getting to know her.

I have to recognize several women in my postpartum journey who have helped me above and beyond their call of duty: in person—my mother-in-law, Chris and my friends Rachael D., Karen W., Christine R., and K.C.; online—A’Driane, Lauren, and the many, many of you who left positive uplifting comments in my blog post, Heaven Can Wait.

Today was a difficult day. I was depressed from the moment I woke up (thank God the baby was with the grandparents overnight) and I could barely get out of bed to brush my teeth and shower. Life just seems so bleak. So many women have echoed in my ears, “It gets better,” and I really hope it does. I’m holding onto the hope of other women.

You turn the radio on
Play your favorite song
And sing out
So loud
~Sarah McLachlan: In Her Shoes~

 

  1. June 23, 2014 at 10:18 AM

    Yay! I’m so glad to hear this. Sometimes things happen for a reason. Sounds like you had a good experience after a bad.

  2. Mom C.
    June 23, 2014 at 10:29 PM

    I’m was so happy to hear that it all worked out for you and you had a fabulous day. Thank you for including me in the women who have helped you. You have thanked me in so many special ways,by showing us that you love “your” son, by showing us how much you love
    “our” son, by verbally thanking me, by the hugs and love that you show toward me, by trusting Dad and I with the baby. I know that life has its ups and downs and that right now you are dealing with a down time but I also know how strong a woman that you are and that you and Jason will work through this to get you to the “up” side of life. Dad and I love you and are here for you! Praying for you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

