Home > Personal > Lies That I Tell Myself

Lies That I Tell Myself

  • Nobody loves me.
  • I’m a failure.
  • I suck.
  • I’m a horrible mother.

Those are just a sample of the lies I tell myself on a daily basis. I know they’re lies because

  • I have a family who loves me.
  • I have a successful freelancing business.
  • I have tons of helpful friends.
  • My kid is still alive.

But as illogical as it might sound, if you think on something long enough, it starts to feel true. I deal with loneliness, perfectionism, low self-esteem, and lack of confidence.

Often I have the tune of “Jesus Love Me” stuck in my head, but here are the words I hear:

Nobody loves me
This I know
For nobody
Tells me so

Which is a blatant lie because my husband tells me he loves me every day.

I don’t know how to overcome these lies in my head. I don’t know how to focus on what is true. I don’t know how to not feel so alone in my mind and my heart.

Categories: Personal Tags: , ,
  1. Chris
    May 8, 2014 at 11:09 AM

    We are all a work in progress. I feel that God made us this way so that we would keep working on ourselves, to be more in His likeness. Just keep communicating, keep loving your husband, son, all of “us”. We love you, yes! we do and we will help in anyway possible to get you through all of this, to be the person we know you are and want to be!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

