Home > Goals > 2013 End-of-Year Goals Check In

2013 End-of-Year Goals Check In

December 30, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

2013

1. Schedule a blog post for each month
FAIL. I didn’t post much in the summer and through the latter part of the year.

2. Go to the gym once a week
FAIL. I quit the gym because I got an elliptical trainer at home.

3. Strength train on Mondays
FAIL. I have not strength trained on Mondays. I will wait until the baby’s born before tackling this again.

4. Read 80 books this year
FAIL. I haven’t been in much of a reading mood. I’ve only read 35 books this year.

5. Craft a new novel from an original idea (not something that I’ve recycled)
SUCCESS! I started writing an original novel for NaNoWriMo. I haven’t finished it yet, but I’d like to.

6. Write a new novel from start to finish in 30 days
FAIL. I had a lot of health setbacks in November that prevented me from completing a novel in 30 days.

7. Write 300 words a day whether it’s a combination of blogging, journaling, article writing, or noveling
FAIL. I haven’t written much this year.

8. Attend the Writer’s Digest conference
SUCCESS! I attended the conference, pitched some agents, and had a mighty good time.

9. Submit query letters to literary agents
SUCCESS! I’ve gotten nothing but rejections, but I’ve submitted query letters.

10. Complete synopsis of Getting Right with God
SUCCESS! In fact, I received a synopsis from an editor that’s even better than the one I wrote.

11. Watch a movie on Saturday evenings with Jason
FAIL. I’ve been bad about doing this. I just haven’t been in a movie-watching mood. 😦

12. Submit a query letter for an article
SUCCESS! I submitted a query letter for Relevant magazine. Never heard anything back, but I did submit something.

13. Develop a routine in the morning
FAIL. I have no routine except to get the heck up.

14. Develop a routine before bed at night
FAIL. I have no routine except to fall into bed.

15. (And oh, why not?) Become a mother
SUCCESS! Fertility treatments have helped me to realize this 2013 goal. I’m due in late February 2014. Exciting!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

