Home > Thoughts > End-of-summer update

End-of-summer update

September 13, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

It’s nearly the end of summer, and I haven’t blogged at all in the past 3 months.

I suppose the big news is that I am 4 months pregnant with our first child thanks to fertility treatments. (I highly recommend Shady Grove Fertility if you live in the mid-Atlantic states.) The first three months were a bit rough going as I was sick on and off, But I’m feeling much better now that I’m in my second trimester.

I submitted queries to agents for my completed novel, Getting Right with God, and was rejected by all of them. How disappointing. And after sending to an editor and having a few established writers review the opening pages of my work, I realize that I still have more work and more revision to do. I’m afraid that the book itself just isn’t marketable, but I’m not willing to self-publish. What a conundrum.

I am working on a novel idea for NaNoWriMo in which a black teenage girl from New York City relocates to the Philadelphia suburbs and attends a posh, primarily white private school. Conflict ensues!

Other than that, I’ve just been working like crazy at the library as a library assistant. I attended two book club meetings this week, which were actually quite enjoyable. We read Beauty Queens by Libba Bray for one and The Hunger Games trilogy (yes, that’s all three books) for another. On my own, I’m reading several books at once:

Quiet is the most intriguing book of all to me. I’m afraid A History of the World… is going to be rather dry reading.

I wish I had more interesting things to say. There are so many topics going on: President Obama’s second term, Syria, the Affordable Care Act, Egypt, Russia… but alas, I have no brainpower or opinions of my own on any of these things, So enjoy this brief update.

 

  1. silverneurotic
    September 13, 2013 at 10:49 PM

    Congrats on the pregnancy! I’m so happy for you!

  2. September 14, 2013 at 10:35 AM

    What????? CONGRATULATIONS!!! I am just giddy for you right now. πŸ™‚ Ironically, last night I was praying that God would bless you with a baby. Yay! Answered prayer!!! I will continue to pray that everything goes well. πŸ™‚
    p.s. I’ve missed your blogs, thanks for putting out a new one – and such a happy one!
    pps. Sorry about the publishers. 😦

  3. September 16, 2013 at 11:25 AM

    Woo hoo! Very happy for you, I know this has been a long time coming. Many prayers for a healthy pregnancy and safe delivery.

  1. November 22, 2013 at 10:14 AM

Leave a Reply

