Home > Child-Free & Infertility > This Infertility Journey Is My Own

This Infertility Journey Is My Own

I haven’t blogged regularly for quite some time, mostly because I’ve had nothing to say. I still don’t have much of anything to say, although this post will disprove that.

I’ve only shared the following with close family and friends, but I will also share it with you, dear readers, because, well, this is my blog and This Journey truly Is My Own.

My husband and I are at the stage of infertility where we’ve decided to pursue IVF (in vitro fertilization). It hasn’t been an easy decision, but financially, God has miraculously provided for us. (I won’t share specifics about how but know that we won’t be in debt.)

I used to judge others who chose the IVF route as being desperate and discounted their choice. Now, as I stand and face that same decision,  I realize how judgmental I was. And yes, I am desperate. And sure, you can discount my choice. But I’m grateful to God who has provided the technology to allow couples like us to still have the hope of conceiving a child. We still may not get pregnant; this is our last resort before adoption. However, I have renewed hope for speculating about my child’s curly hair, possible hazel eyes (like his father), or perhaps full lips (like her mother).

With IVF, the chances for multiples increase. There is a greater than 50 percent chance that we may have twins. Depending on how many embryos there are, there’s a remote possibility of triplets. I’m trying to cozy up to the idea of twins. Triplets seems like too much.

We’ve also had to discuss the implications of having leftover embryos. What will we do with them? Discard them? Donate them to research? Freeze them for use at a later date? We’ve decided upon the latter. There is an annual storage fee for what is called cryopreservation, but we’re prepared to pay for it if necessary.

I’ve been encouraged by the response from close friends and family about our decision—all of whom are Christians. They’ve been supportive and understanding as we undertake this huge endeavor that will essentially guarantee us a living baby or our money back. (That’s really in the contract.) I haven’t encountered anyone who has been disgusted, disappointed, or discouraged by our decision. But like I said, I’ve only spoken to a few close friends about it.

My husband and I have had various procedures to try to maximize our chances of getting pregnant. Some have worked; some have not. But as of right now, we are in the best place for trying IVF—emotionally and financially.

To prepare for IVF, I will need to use injectable medications to stimulate my ovaries to produce more eggs/egg follicles than usual. I’m not particularly looking forward to that aspect of preparing for IVF, but I’ll do what I need to do to get us pregnant!

My apologies if my thoughts are all a-jumble. My brain is cloudy today, and I’m extremely tired.

  1. Christine (Mom C.)
    May 15, 2013 at 2:33 PM

    You know that we are 100% for you and pray that your wishes, dreams and prayers are answered. Let us know if you need anything!

  2. Kass
    May 14, 2014 at 10:27 AM

    Reblogged this on This Journey Is My Own and commented:

    This time last year. I’m so happy that we decided to pursue fertility treatments. I think our entire family has enjoyed the result: our son.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

