Home > Personal > Racism

Racism

I get so frustrated when black people, especially kids, throw around the term racist to any white person who offends them in some way. It’s annoying and it diminishes the meaning of the term.

I work in a library in a predominantly white community. The black kids that come in can get a little rowdy. (To be fair, kids of all colors who come in can get a little rowdy.) When the kids start using foul language or begin causing trouble, they get kicked out. The black kids cry out “racist!” directly at the person who is sending them off (and that person tends to be white). It rankles my feathers to hear that term being bandied about by kids who probably have never encountered real racism. As my (white) husband put it so well, these kids use the only defense they’ve got because once you call a white person a racist, “it shuts them down and they have no other comeback.”

I’ve encountered racism. Sadly enough, the racism has come primarily from other black people. I’ve had other black people tear me down for music I’ve listened to, people I’ve chosen to date, and for the books I read. It’s one of the reasons I have very few black friends. In some respects, I feel more comfortable around white people than black people because most white people don’t go out of their way to make me feel inferior.

Anyway, that’s the end of my rant about black kids who pull out the racist card like it’s the biggest ace they’ve got.

Categories: Personal Tags: ,
  1. March 11, 2013 at 6:15 PM

    From a purely objective, psychological view, I can understand how people get to a place where they react like that (that is, the people you spoke of last, who tear you down for your choices.) If they feel like they’re already oppressed for who they are, any trait they deem as being indicative of “who they are” is elevated in importance, and anyone who does not share that trait is therefore not being “who they are” but trying to be something else. It’s unfortunate that being who you are as an individual can be seen as not being who you are as a collective culture.

    That may itself be more indicative of a feeling of culture lack or culture loss, hanging on to anything that would seem to represent the culture and rejecting those who don’t adhere to these arbitrary cultural principles. Like a defense mechanism against what has too often been derided by “others”, to have it seemingly abandoned by “one of them” can be viewed as painful.

    From a purely personal and emotional point of view, I can’t grasp why people try to dictate who other people have to be to such a degree, why someone else’s choices become the objects of attacks, as if your choice of music is an offense to them personally.

    From me to you, I’m sorry you’ve had to go through it. (hug)

    • Kass
      March 12, 2013 at 2:15 PM

      I don’t get it either. Thank you for your kind comments.

  2. March 12, 2013 at 11:24 AM

    Actually, there is a good comeback. I would just say, “When the expectations for your behavior are different than for other kids, then you can call me a racist. Until then, you need to follow the rules just like everybody else.”

    • Kass
      March 12, 2013 at 2:16 PM

      Good one!

  3. March 17, 2013 at 6:15 PM

    Read that book, “I’m Down”. It might be relate-able. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

