Home > Personal > Spiritual apathy and work

Spiritual apathy and work

February 27, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

I’m in a weird spiritual place right now. I’m not anti-God or even angry with Him. I just am. I just exist. But somehow He and I have a disconnect. I know God doesn’t want someone who is lukewarm and I am so lukewarm right now.

I know your works: you are neither cold nor hot. Would that you were either cold or hot! So, because you are lukewarm, and neither hot nor cold, I will spit you out of my mouth. For you say, I am rich, I have prospered, and I need nothing, not realizing that you are wretched, pitiable, poor, blind, and naked. —Revelation 3:15-17

I have the potential opportunity to work 3 jobs. Yes, THREE. I feel fortunate to be able to have work coming in this tough economy. But yes, I work as a freelance editor and proofreader for advertising agencies. That’s my niche; that’s my specialty. I accept it and embrace it. If you’ve read any of my previous posts, you might have noticed mistakes, errors, misspellings, typos. I really don’t edit my posts on this blog much, especially since I put most of my effort into my day job. On my professional blog (which I haven’t written for in quite a while), I double-check and triple-check my work before hitting the Publish button. But I allow myself this place—this space—to be imperfect and make mistakes since I feel the need to be at the top of my game in other areas.

  1. February 27, 2013 at 12:38 PM

    Hey Kass!

    Even with the disconnect, don’t forget about grace. Somehow in the ebb and flow of life, that one reality allows God to hang onto me, even when I purposefully let go. While I can’t elaborate here, I will say I definitely identify with your initial paragraph.

    And I was on another blog and saw this link for becoming a prolific writer (Forbes): http://www.forbes.com/sites/singularity/2013/02/25/my-secrets-how-i-became-a-prolific-writer-and-learned-to-get-beyond-school-essays/

    Maybe you’ve already seen it, or not – here’s to your writing success!

  2. February 27, 2013 at 7:40 PM

    Glad you could use this blog to just relax and be yourself, without seeking perfection. The same thing applies to spirituality. I don’t think God wants you to be perfect in order to please Him or be with Him. I believe you just need to be who you are at the moment – just be – and that seems to be exactly where you are right now. I think this is fine. My experience has been that I need to be present, in the moment. This is where I can find God.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

