Home > Personal, Prompts, Writing > Things I Grew Up With That My Future Children Will Never Know

Things I Grew Up With That My Future Children Will Never Know

I grew up with a great many things back in the 1980s through 2000s. But technology has progressed rapidly since then and I’ve compiled a short list of things my children (if I ever have any) will never know.

1. A typewriter

2. Jem & the Holograms

3. VHS

4. Tube televisions

5. Getting up from my seat to change the channel (before remote controls were ubiquitous)

6. 8-track player

7. Reel-to-reel music

8. Mix tapes (especially taping music off of the radio)

9. Napster (when it was cool)

10. A rotary phone

11. Life without a cell phone

12. Using physical books in the library to perform research

13. Duck Hunt (a Nintendo game)

14. Great comedians like Bob Hope and George Burns

15. Walkman or a Discman

16. Dot-matrix printer (or waiting more than a minute for a full sheet of paper to be printed)

17. Floppy disks (the 3.5 hard ones and the actual 5.25 floppies)

18. Who Shot J.R.? (aka nighttime soaps like Dynasty, Falcon Crest, and Dallas)

Anything else you can think of adding?

  1. February 4, 2013 at 8:55 PM

    Breakdancing done proper on the street-corner: with boombox and cardboard mat.

    Also, they’ll never experience meeting a loved one at the gate as they directly disembark from an airplane.

    self standing pay phone booths (at least I don’t see any around here – I guess airports and the like have them)

    disc cameras?

    Cool post – really got me thinking!

  2. February 5, 2013 at 12:21 PM

    I wonder if kids still “pass notes” in class or if all of their non-verbal communication is done by electronics?
    Please circle Yes or No with your answer. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

