Home > Goals > Goals: Starting Off Small in the Hopes of Big Success

Goals: Starting Off Small in the Hopes of Big Success

I joined Weight Watchers online and find my points incredibly restrictive and rather tough to stick to. I made the mistake of blowing my daily AND weekly points on one meal. Not even salads are guaranteed to be all right if it’s got protein.

20130109-193036.jpgAnd I guess that’s my problem with Weight Watchers—I feel like I’m sometimes penalized for eating meat. I’m not giving up Weight Watchers because I’ve been on it before and successfully lost 10 pounds on the plan so I hope for a triumphant recurrence of that. Can you believe a Lean Cuisine is 7 points? A Lean Cuisine for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and I’ve only got 7 points left over for another Lean Cuisine of 2 snacks. Managing my points is difficult because I have so few. You’d think I don’t have much weight to lose but I’d like to lose a good 40 pounds. (Honestly, I used to shoot for 70 pounds but I don’t think that’s realistic anymore.) I know I won’t be able to keep that kind of weight off without exercise. So my plan is to go to the gym (Planet Fitness) on the weekends and do at least a half-hour of cardio with one strength training session per week (using a Jackie Warner video). This is me starting out small so I don’t get overwhelmed by some impossible goal of attempting to exercise 5 days a week when realistically I’m lucky if I exercise 1 day a week.

I guess that’s one of the important things about goals:

Start off small.

I’m using Health Month to help me make a difference in my physical and spiritual life. I set up “rules” that I must adhere to a certain number of times per week or else I lose points. It’s been a rather effective way of helping me to develop new habits such as exercising one a week, getting to the gym (that I’m paying for) once a week, and reading my Bible and praying at least 4 times a week. It’s free to join and set up 3 rules. More than 3 rules and you’d have to pay a month-to-month or yearly plan.

Weight Watchers Mobile, in combination with My Fitness Pal, is another tool in my arsenal of dieting weapons. It’s a shame that Weight Watchers Mobile is sorely lacking where My Fitness Pal (a free app) shines like gold. My biggest complaint about Weight Watchers Mobile is that the database is only searchable with personal user data and the data Weight Watchers selects. If another user inputs data, that information isn’t searchable by anyone else except that particular user. The great thing about My Fitness Pal is that users from all over the United States put in nutritional information about products and anyone can access that information. It’s a shame My Fitness Pal has this feature for free whereas a premium site like Weight Watchers has kind of put the kibosh on such sharing of information through their database.

20130109-193222.jpg

Another dumb thing about Weight Watchers Mobile is that their bar code scanner is a completely separate application while My Fitness Pal has the bar code scanner built into its app. In My Fitness Pal, the bar code scanner is functional and easy to use. Why am I on Weight Watchers, you might ask, since I seem to be pissing and moaning about the plan and its mobile apps?

The plan works. It has worked for me in the past. I have yet to lose any weight using My Fitness Pal. (In fact, I’ve gained weight!)

YouVersion is my go-to app for all things spiritual. It has a variety of Bible reading plans I can choose from, but I choose to go at my own pace, which is slower than reading the Bible in a year. I love the fact that certain translations are downloadable for offline use so that even when I don’t have an Internet connection (or possess a crappy one), that no longer hampers my ability to read the Bible anywhere. I most frequently use the English Standard Version (ESV) with the New American Standard Bible (NASB) coming up as a close second.

So Health Month, Weight Watchers Mobile, My Fitness Pal, and YouVersion are a few tools that I am using to stay on track physically and spiritually.

  1. February 1, 2013 at 11:22 AM

    I lost 60 lbs on weight watchers about 10 years ago when there was just the paper points counter. The way I had the most success was to figure out what was important for me to eat each day (dessert and cheese) and subtract the points for those at the beginning of the day. I knew I could fill in the rest of the day eating stuff I wasn’t excited about as long as I knew I had those two things to look forward to. 10 years later and I’m 10 lbs below my goal weight.

    Good luck πŸ™‚

    • Kass
      February 6, 2013 at 1:51 PM

      Congrats! And thank you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

