Home > Personal > Opportunity Knocks

Opportunity Knocks

Changes are afoot. I may have the opportunity to work an editing job regularly. This is something I’m somewhat excited about because I enjoy editing and I’ve been told I’m good and reliable. But there’s a part of me that is afraid. Afraid that I’ll be found out to be a fraud in the line of work that I want to do.

A few years ago, my now retired boss called me up and asked me what I wanted to do with my life. The question caught me off guard so I babbled on about having a family, having children, being a mom. Not that I don’t still want those things, but at 30, I now have a clearer picture of what I want to do with my life apart from mothering. I want to be an editor and a writer. I want to write another novel and I want to edit other pieces. Whether I’ll eventually have to choose between editing and my library job, I know not. Frankly, I don’t want to choose. I enjoy them both on different levels.

I may get a regular schedule for a month or two depending on the workload. We’ll see how it works out. It would be nice to have another source of steady income even if it is only for 1 to 2 months.

But I do have an editing business and I would like for it to “take off.” What that looks like, I’m not sure to be quite honest (because, really, I would lie to you). So far, my editing business consists of two advertising agencies, one occasional client, and a past client. I guess two ad agencies is a full load especially with a part-time library job, but I like having things to do during my off hours at night and on the weekends. I like being so busy, I don’t know what to do next. Although it does provide a source of stress.

So if I could go back in time and answer my former boss’s question today, I’d say, “I’d like to write and edit. I’d like to build up a clientele of people I edit for and I’d like to be able to write on the side.” Whether that would have been enough of a satisfactory answer to score the editing job that I got passed over for, I don’t know but it’s the answer that I’d give and the answer that I think I’d stand by 10 years from now. Things change but my basic skills, gifts, and talents haven’t changed; they’ve only evolved over time. Hopefully for the better.

  1. January 28, 2013 at 8:41 AM

    🙂 excited for you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

