Home > Politics > Thoughts on My Political Leanings

Thoughts on My Political Leanings

September 10, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

I took a Pew Research Center quiz that determined I was a New Coalition Democrat, or rather likely to be a member of the New Democrat Coalition. I’ve been on a journey to determine whether I am a true Democrat or whether I was just avoiding becoming a Republican because I see the tough road Black Republicans must tread. I’ve discovered that my political positions indeed do lean Democrat and here’s why:

  • Pro-gay rights. Give gays the right to marry. (Or simply give consenting adults the right to marry.)
  • I believe the way to reduce the debt is to cut spending and raise taxes. (I am dubious of any politician who promises reducing the debt without raising taxes.)
  • Anti-death penalty. Abolish the death penalty federally.
  • Give amnesty to illegal immigrants. Force them to pay taxes and graft them into a path to citizenship.
  • I believe there are still social inequalities for racial minorities that sometimes need government (state or federal) intervention.

Here’s why I thought I leaned Republican:

  • Anti-abortion. Abolish abortion except for extreme cases.
  • Religion is an important aspect of my life. I am a born-again Christian. (They tend to vote Republican.)
  • My household is financially well off.
  • I don’t believe businesses are generally evil. Most businesses seek to make a good and honest profit. (Now that I’m in business for myself, I understand the concept of profit a little bit better.)
  • Welfare should have term limits. After five years, able-bodied citizens should begin working at McDonald’s or be cut off from government benefits.
  • I think wars are sometimes necessary, although I am a strong advocate of extensive diplomacy. I am not isolationist.

Apparently, my so-called Republican leanings simply make me a centrist Democrat rather than a left-leaning liberal. According to the Pew Research Center, the following describes members of the New Democrat Coalition (estimated to be 10 percent of the public):

What They Believe
  • Strongly pro-government
  • Upbeat about the country’s ability to solve problems and an individual’s ability to get ahead through hard work
  • Approve of regulation and environmental protection
  • More positive about business than other Democratic-oriented groups
  • Generally liberal on racial issues
  • Hospitable to immigrants: 78% believe they strengthen society
  • Very religious and socially conservative
Who They Are
  • 56% are Democrats
  • Majority-minority group: 34% white, 30% black and 26% Latino
  • About three-in-ten are first or second generation Americans
  • 55% have only a high school education or less
  • 23% are not registered to vote
  • Only 34% read a daily newspaper
  • Half are regular volunteers for charity or non-profit groups
  1. September 10, 2012 at 7:16 PM

    Thirty years ago you probably would have been a Republican–but the party has moved to the right away from you…

  1. January 3, 2013 at 11:13 AM

Leave a Reply

