Home > Politics > Thoughts on Politics

Thoughts on Politics

I will not be a Black Republican because I prefer the path of least resistance. I am not a trailblazer, and I don’t like going against the grain. However, I don’t like President Obama’s pro-abortion policies, and I do not think this country is better off after four years of having him as president. However, I do support the Democratic Party platform of marriage equality for gays. But I also don’t want to be told to vote for Obama.

On the flip side, I’m not sold on Mitt Romney either. I’m not sold on the Romney-Ryan ticket, but I don’t like seeing people attack them more ferociously than the President. While I support the Republican party’s pro-life stance, I don’t want a constitutional amendment (or anything legislative) guaranteeing marriage as something between a man and a woman only. I’m not sold on Republican ideas of getting the economy going again, but the Democrats (President Obama especially) have failed to do anything.

I admit, I’m sympathetic to minority Republicans because they believe strongly enough in the political arena to catch flak from their fellow minorities who are likely Democrats. People like Condoleeza Rice, Susana Martinez, and Marco Rubio provide hope that the Republican party won’t remain “the good ol’ White boys club.”

But I don’t know that I’ll vote for Romney. I don’t know if I’ll vote at all.

  1. August 31, 2012 at 6:50 PM

    Obama isn’t pro-abortion. Neither is anyone. People are pro-choice. that is a distinct difference.

    • Kass
      August 31, 2012 at 9:48 PM

      No, the President goes beyond pro-choice; he is pro-abortion.

      • September 1, 2012 at 12:40 AM

        will all due respect, being pro-abortion implies something different than being pro-choice. i don’t recall obama ever saying that abortion is a good thing. like many people who believe in pro-choice, they feel that sometimes it is the best option for the woman, they’re not going around saying everyone should have a billion abortions and use it as a means of birth control. some people just think that it should be on the table as an option, and obama isn’t a liberal and left-wing as everyone makes him out to be.

    • October 18, 2012 at 2:52 PM

      Tell the aborted fetuses. They’ll take great comfort from your logic.

  2. silverneurotic
    September 2, 2012 at 11:53 AM

    Perhaps posting proof that Obama clearly is Pro Abortion vs. Pro Choice would be better than just insisting the fact. This is why there are so many arguments, lies, rumors, etc. in politics. Too many people stating “facts” but failing to take the time to back up their claims.

    I’m not trying to attack you, but I can sense that based on the previous comments this could get potentially ugly.

    • Kass
      September 2, 2012 at 12:07 PM

      I could post proof, but the thing about political arguments is that neither side changes her mind. It only serves to solidify the position(s) one already holds.

      And yes, it would get ugly which is why I’m refraining from posting much more in the comments.

  3. silverneurotic
    September 2, 2012 at 11:57 AM

    Also, if you do feel so disenfranchised about the current two party system…I would seriously think about researching the two dozen or so third parties that are out there. Yes, some are truly “out there” but perhaps there is one that does speak to you. It’s a small step, but if enough people make those small steps perhaps we can break free from the two party system.

    • Kass
      September 2, 2012 at 12:08 PM

      Good points. I’ve taken political quizzes that show I still lean Democrat though so I’m not sure which third party I’d go for.

  4. October 18, 2012 at 2:54 PM

    You are a highly intelliegent person whose opinions I enjoy reading. Please vote. Your country needs your thoughtful particpation.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

