Home > Thoughts > What I Learned from My Manicure

What I Learned from My Manicure

20120823-152532.jpg

I got a manicure today and as soon as I got home, I ruined some of it (as you can see by the thumb). The nail polish wasn’t mine so I can’t fix it. But what I can do is learn three things from my manicure:

1. People aren’t perfect. The lady cutting my cuticles left a glaring one hanging that I cut myself when I got home. But I can’t expect her to be perfect and see every detail, just as I can’t expect myself to be perfect and catch every detail.

2. Life is messy. My nails aren’t quite what I would like them to be. Just like life. You think you’ve got things all figured out and suddenly life puts a huge dent in your flawless manicure. Life won’t turn out how you expect it to.

3. All things will pass. My manicure won’t last forever and crappy things don’t last forever. In a week, I will not care about the smudge on my thumb because it will not be there. Most troubles will come and go; what will remain are the lessons we’ve learned.

A bonus: most things are fine. Most of my nails look great. Those are the ones I can show off. Most things in life tend to be fine. It’s just the glaring, obvious problems that tend to get our attention. But when you consider everything that’s going on in your life, most things are going well (especially if you have the ability to read this).

Can you name one thing going well in your life in spite of feeling like things are going wrong?

Categories: Thoughts Tags: , , , ,
  1. August 23, 2012 at 4:02 PM

    Good way to look at it:)

  2. Chris
    August 29, 2012 at 2:26 PM

    Having a wonderful daughter in law who I can talk to about anything, anytime – priceless!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

