Home > Personal > Yankee in the Suburbs: Dispatches from an Unfinished Day

Yankee in the Suburbs: Dispatches from an Unfinished Day

I am a Yankee (through and through – New York, baby!) in the ‘burbs, writing about my day, thoughts, and blatherings.

I am currently working at a full-time contract job at an advertising agency in which I simply get paid to proofread. When there’s nothing to proofread, I have downtime. Loads of it. Which is why I am currently blogging. I’ll think of it as being paid to blog today. I like having work to do but when there’s too much, it gets overwhelming.

As a result of temporarily working full-time, I’m wiped. I have a hard time getting up in the mornings, and it seems that no matter how many cups of coffee I ingest, I can’t seem to wake up.

Because I work at an advertising agency periodically, I almost never qualify for online surveys. Is it because I know the inner workings of a survey too much if that’s the case? I don’t know. I only wish that I were a part of the ad agency and the process a bit more. But I said no at one point and ever since, I’ve been on the outside looking in.

I have a Soft Rock station on Pandora that I’m quite happy with. It plays such artists as Bread, The Bee Gees, The Carpenters, The Beatles, James Taylor, Carly Simon, Stevie Nicks, The Eagles, and other soft rock one-hit wonders from the ’70s and ’80s. During the ’80s and ’90s, this was the music I grew up listening to in the back of a plush, gray Honda Accord so I’m quite fond of it.

I’m struggling to come up with a good idea for a story that I’m passionate about writing. I think NaNoWriMo might be a challenge this year. I simply can’t come up with a good plot or conflict to fit a character. For my (unpublished) novel, Getting Right with God, I had a clear vision of who the main character was, the people she’d be up against, and the conflicts that would arise. I’m not getting such a clear vision on anything I come up with now. Not enough to make it woirth a 300-page read.

I think I’m losing my ability to edit and proofread well. Others have been catching my mistakes and I guess that’s the price I pay for working at a library and not using my editing skills regularly. I don’t envy the job the full-time proofreader has here. It’s a big job and a lot to oversee.

PCA Pastor Bobby Griffith has written a great post on infertility at vintage73.

I’ve been going on a shopping spree lately, which serves to show the dangers of me working. I’ve gotten two shirts, several pairs (three!) of shoes and a purse, showing that I can’t pass up accessories no matter how hard I try. I’m thankful that I will be able to afford it all after I get paid by the ad agency. I’d post pictures but I don’t have the items available with me right now. (Well, I guess I’m wearing a pair on my feet but no one wants to see my feet.)

I am undecided as to what I should do with my hour-long lunch break. There are so many options: go to the gym (which is healthiest), go shopping at Kohl’s, or take a nap. A nap sounds about divine right now. (UPDATE: I went to Kohl’s, Famous Footwear, and Big Lots!, but the hubby will be happy to know I didn’t buy anything except a bottle of Aquafina to quench my thirst from my excursion.)

I have a book to read, The Meaning of Marriage by Tim Keller, but all I’ve been doing is reading at work. Who wants to do additional reading beyond what I’m being paid to do? I’d much rather write. I’d like to write a story but my brain is stuck.

The song, “Payphone,” is stuck in my head. It’s such an ill-timed song. When was the last time you used a payphone? One of the libraries where I work doesn’t even have one anymore.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

