Home > Books & Reading, Personal > Watching and Reading

Watching and Reading

Recently, I watched a documentary on President Bill Clinton called American Experience: Clinton that I found simply fascinating. It’s amazing how much Clinton’s legacy would have changed had he not gotten involved in the whole Monica Lewinsky affair. I found Clinton to be a fascinating president who, no matter how much experience he had, could have not possibly been prepared for the demands of the office, but still somehow found a way to make tough decisions that weren’t really popular with either party.

I have been reading Eat, Pray, Love and find the book to be dreadful. This isn’t the first memoir that I’ve read (Mennonite in a Little Black Dress was better) so I’m surprised by how much I dislike the author who left her husband, engaged in an extramarital affair during the divorce process, and proceeded to bribe a customs official during her stay in Bali, Indonesia. I’m surprised the book was as popular as it was given that the author seems to be self-absorbed (more so in the first third of the book rather than toward the end). Although reading Ms. Gilbert’s tripe make me want to write tripe of my own.

On the other hand, I just finished Man in the Music about Michael Jackson’s music and artistry and found that to be insightful and intriguing. I’d recommend that book for anyone who is interested in Michael Jackson and his work. It’s a five-star book.

  1. estreitta
    June 13, 2012 at 1:59 PM

    As I am not an avid reader like you, more of a movie watcher, I agree about Eat Pray Love… I was excited to see Julia Roberts in a movie (it had been a while) and Had NO idea to what the movie was about and went and watched it with some friends… I liked the title…The only other thing I can say that I liked about the movie was the landscapes and the locations they went to… The story line was as you put it dreadful… and really sad… But it is very reflective of the current state of our society and it’s lack of value it gives to marriage.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

