Home > Thoughts > Mundane Blogging: Alpha

Mundane Blogging: Alpha

Image Credit: Evgeni Dinev

It’s a shame that I’ve got this good ol’ blog that I don’t use or touch regularly. So perhaps I’ll try posting more mundane posts. Posts that I think no one really cares about. (Let’s see how long this lasts.) Oh, like, something that would qualify as a Facebook status update: Today was a nice day.

Wait, I’m already cheapening my own post.

In all seriousness, today was a relatively good day. I worked my 3-hour shift in the children’s section of the library and endured a 2-hour drive to and from Philly (with my husband) for a 15-minute appointment with my psychiatrist. Thank God my psychiatrist is so good he’s worth the gas.

My husband (J) and I stopped at Bed Bath & Beyond to return an item and purchase some new sheets since we just lost two to wear and (literal) tear. We also spent time bumbling around trying to remember what it was that we wanted to buy at BB&B but couldn’t remember. (To this moment, we still haven’t remembered.) Then on a whim, we ate at Anthony’s Coal Fired Pizza for an early dinner only to discover that the only chicken on the menu were their specialty wings. My husband can’t eat any meat other than poultry due to his gout so the lack of chicken as a topping option was a real letdown. We ended up having an eggplant pizza along with their chicken wings, which were both good.

In addition to attending Bible study tonight, I managed to send off my manuscript to two beta readers in the hopes that I’ll get valuable feedback soon.

Ah yes, my unpublished, completed manuscript. It is tentatively called Getting Right with God and is 19 chapters long and 315 pages wide with 92,538 words and a Flesch-Kincaid Reading Level of 5.2. (Only 2 percent of my sentences are passive!) Now, I need to format it so it follows standard manuscript format and prepare it for—the horror!—querying agents. And now the editor has turned author andI’m the one who needs to pay an editor to review my work.

Bonus of the Day: J gifted Norah Jones’s latest album, Little Broken Hearts, to me. It’s only $5.00 on Amazon in May 2012.

 

  1. May 12, 2012 at 12:40 AM

    I bought the new Norah album the other day myself. I didn’t know she had a new one out, but I saw it and bought it. It’s different, but I think I like it.

    • Kassi
      May 14, 2012 at 5:24 PM

      It IS different. I’m familiar with Danger Mouse’s work so, to me, it’s like his fingerprints are all over it. You might like Broken Bells (band) too if you like Norah’s latest.

  2. silverneurotic
    May 12, 2012 at 9:21 PM

    I would have loved to be a beta reader-though I know that right now i just would not have worked out. Too much to get done before I move the beginning of next month.

    • Kassi
      May 14, 2012 at 5:23 PM

      That’s all right. Thanks anyway!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

