Home > Child-Free & Infertility > 7 Ways I Enjoy Being Child-Free (Not by Choice)

7 Ways I Enjoy Being Child-Free (Not by Choice)

Image from childfreedom.blogspot.com

If you’ve been reading this blog for any length of time, you know that I struggle with childlessness. I have not willingly chosen to be child-free as some couples have. It’s just a matter of not having been blessed with children at this time. As my husband and I determine our next course of action, I recognize that there are benefits to not having children. There are things that I would be willing to give up if we are blessed with kids, but at this time, I might as well enjoy myself!

1. Waking up without having to tend to someone else’s needs.

If I plan to balance my checkbook for an hour, I don’t need to worry about anyone crying as he or she wakes up from sleep. I can go about my business as planned.

2. Eating out when I want to.

Although eating out regularly gets expensive, I’m not a fan of cooking. With a child, eating out will become a luxury because we wouldn’t be able to afford the extra expense and getting an active toddler to sit at a meal for a while would be a challenge.

3. No extra anxieties.

I’m already an anxious person. Can you imagine the anxiety I’d develop as I worry about a toddler trying to get into all the cabinets or climbing the dishwasher onto the counter? I’m not constantly freaking out about being put in jail because I failed to get the most secure lock on the cleaning products cabinet.

4. Traveling isn’t a hassle.

Travel and packing is already stressful for just me. Having to pack for myself and for another one might drive me insane. And if we’re stuck in traffic for 4 hours, we don’t need to pull over for anything except maybe refilling the tank. Oh, and I’m not that mom in the plane who everyone wishes would shut her kid up.

5. Earning money is rewarding.

Being a mom is a thankless job. So are a lot of other regular jobs but that paycheck is not thankless; it’s rewarding. Being a mom sometimes doesn’t feel so rewarding when you do the same things day in, day out without a thank you or any kind of paycheck. Right now, I feel like I’m contributing to my family in a way that yields instant rewards.

6. Relatively clean and intact items around the home.

We don’t have animals either so nothing has been pooped on, drooled on, or torn apart. The worst my books and furniture have to endure are dust and wear and tear. (Okay, maybe I scribble on a few things…)

7. Quiet.

No babies crying, no children pestering me with questions like “why” for everything, no teens constantly asking me for cash. If my husband is silent and I am not talking, it is quiet. I should relish this for as long as I can.

Again, these are things I am reminding myself to enjoy as I pursue a dream of having children. Is there anything else you can add that I’ve missed?

  1. March 7, 2012 at 9:33 AM

    I think you covered it all very well, real good positive way of looking at it 🙂

  2. March 7, 2012 at 9:44 AM

    The opportunity to watch whatever you want on TV without a kid begging for more Yo Gabba Gabba. 🙂

  3. March 7, 2012 at 3:34 PM

    During the first four years of our marriage, my wife and I discovered that being childless lent itself more readily to various forms of ministry, including hospitality and giving.

  4. silverneurotic
    March 7, 2012 at 10:28 PM

    When you are getting ready to leave the house, it only takes five minutes. With kids, it’ll take a half hour at the very least…even if you are running to the grocery store for three things.

  5. March 9, 2012 at 12:36 PM

    I hear what you’re saying, and realize I do have blessings by not being a mom…but I would gladly trade all those for just one child.

    BTW if you have pets, then your schedule isn’t entirely your own, either. My dog dictates quite a bit of what I do.

    As far as the ministry angle goes…I just returned from a mission trip to Honduras. My church did a combined medical and children’s Bible school mission. I was on the medical side of it, but spent a few minutes watching the children. I was grateful that I was free to go on the trip with relatively little hassle, but seeing those children just solidified in my mind and spirit how much I want children of my own. People have suggested that I get involved in children’s ministries to fulfill my need for a child. I can now tell you that it doesn’t work that way for me.

  6. November 22, 2012 at 9:09 AM

    Instant rewards are deceitful. Think long-term, legacy, eternity..that’s reality.

  7. December 23, 2014 at 3:22 PM

    get the greatest roofing installation anywhere

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

