Home > Child-Free & Infertility > What to Expect When You’re Not Expecting

What to Expect When You’re Not Expecting

February 28, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Lots of baby announcements that are not yours.

Writing about infertility has actually been difficult for me lately. It leaves me with stilted language and incomplete thoughts. I have privately published posts with words here and there—words that wouldn’t make sense to anyone but convey the pain and sadness in my own heart.

The crappy thing about infertility is that it often leaves the sufferer with an unhealthy dose of envy. Suddenly one must battle covetousness in ways like never before.

I know someone who isn’t able to attend a baby shower because it is unlikely she will ever have kids of her own. I can only attend baby showers for very close friends, and even then, it is difficult for me to do so with complete and joyful abandon.

Infertility has brought the cream of my sinfulness to the top, and I really hope God skims it right off.

Happy is the woman (or man) who can joyously celebrate another couple’s announced pregnancy without feeling a twinge of envy or bitterness!

  1. February 28, 2012 at 1:23 PM

    Love you. And praying for you.

  2. February 28, 2012 at 6:25 PM

    I think it depends in the friends, some pregnancies hurt more than others. I also think its a grieving process and at some point it won’t hurt as much. In the meantime be kind to yourself 1st x

  3. Lisa
    February 29, 2012 at 8:26 PM

    I appreciate the reminder to be sensitive to others. I believe that often we can think (even unintentionally) that that’s sad for them, but we leave it at that. I know that everyone has problems, but some problems really ARE bigger, or more life altering than others. I will keep praying for you and reminding myself to try to have more compassion on others – all the time.

  1. May 30, 2016 at 10:01 AM

Leave a Reply

