Home > Prompts, Writing > 29 Thought-Provoking Life Questions You Should Constantly Ask Yourself

29 Thought-Provoking Life Questions You Should Constantly Ask Yourself

Andy at My Story to You… posted 30 Thought-Provoking Life Questions You Should Constantly Ask Yourself. (I deleted the last one because it was a repeat of #25.) I don’t know if I’d constantly ask myself these questions, but it’s a good one-shot post. 🙂

1) What great thing would you attempt if you knew you couldn’t fail?

I’d begin an editing business. First, I’d solely take on editing projects by myself to establish a reputation. If more requests came in and I could afford to pay another editor to take on a project, I’d hire someone else. I would like this editing business to grow so that the editing business becomes a network of freelance editors.

2) What would you do if you were 10 times bolder in your relationships, work, family, and spiritual life?

If I were 10 times bolder in relationships including family, I’d be completely honest about my struggles. In work, I would do things and risk suffering the consequences of my actions later. In my spiritual life, I’d believe in God boldly and His ability to do amazing things in my life and the lives of those I know.

3) What would you be doing if you had all the money in the world?

Honestly? Spending it on myself selfishly lol. I’d get voice lessons for fun. I’d spend some on missionaries and charitable organizations my husband and I support. I’d also put it toward my editing business to make that dream come true sooner that I hoped! I’d buy things for friends and be less stingy with gift-giving.

4) If you could teach something, what would you want to teach?

English or History.

5) If you left this life tomorrow, what message would you leave behind for the next seven generations?

Meaningless, meaningless, everything is meaningless. So fear God, eat, drink, and be merry!

6) How short would your life have to be before you would start living differently today?

I don’t know how I could live differently. The only things I want to do before I die are a process and take time. Maybe I’d drop everything I’m doing and really put my energy toward getting my book published.

7) When was the last time you went someplace you had never before?

In 2006 when my husband and I went to the Dominican Republic and just relaxed.

8) What is your biggest dream?

To have kids. That’s a legacy that lasts beyond getting a book published (my second biggest dream).

9) Can you describe your life with a six-word-or-less sentence?

My life is random and crazy.

10) When was the last time you tried something new?

In December when I began working in the children’s section of the library. It is daunting.

11) What makes you come alive?

Good music.

12) How much control do you have over your life?

None. I just like to think I do.

13) How would your life be different if you knew you weren’t judged or criticized?

I wouldn’t live with constant paranoia.

14) Why do you love what you love?

I love editing because it’s great to shape and craft the words of others and watch their thoughts emerge. I am the unknown person behind the scenes who willingly hands the spotlight to others.

15) When you’re much older, what type of stories do you want to tell?

Stories about crazy things I did in my mundane life. Like working 4 jobs.

16) Beyond color, nationality, job titles accomplishments, sexual preferences, or labels given by others…who are you?

I am a child of God.

17) Are you settling?

Yes and no. I am settling for working several jobs in the hopes that I can pay down my bills and build a business. But on the other hand, two of those jobs are in the realm of where I want my business to go and the other two are simply for fun.

18) What does your joy look like today?

My decent eyesight lasting until 1 pm.

19) Finish this sentence: When I think of love, I think of…

God and my husband.

20) What did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a singer. Ha!

21) What could you say was your defining moment?

When I attended NYU for the first time and thought, I’m really here. I’m living my dream. This is my dream come true.

22) How do you define “soul”?

The immaterial part of you that lives on eternally.

23) When did you become so fearful as an adult?

September 2011 when I was struck with severe anxiety of everything.

24) If you could go back and do something again, would you have made the same choices?

Yes. I wouldn’t know any different.

25) If you were God, with the absolute power of creation, how would the world look?

A world of perfect harmony without discord.

26) What are some things worth fighting for?

Love, life, and faith.

27) What is the most important thing to teach a child?

Fear of God.

28) Where is heaven to you?

Somewhere beyond this galaxy; beyond what human eyes can see.

29) What do you want your future self to say about your present self?

Be patient.

  1. January 7, 2012 at 12:28 PM

    That must of been a nice trip to the Dominican Republic, away from the western world 🙂 nice! amen to #27.

  2. January 7, 2012 at 8:42 PM

    Great questions! I need some time to be able to answer these questions….

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

