Home > Goals, Personal > The Story I’m Telling Myself vs. The True Story

The Story I’m Telling Myself vs. The True Story

Image from barbarahaleannex.com

Inspired by Michael Hyatt’s post:  http://michaelhyatt.com/change-your-story-change-your-life.html

The Story I’m Telling Myself
  • I’m too young.
  • I’ve failed before. I’ll fail again.
  • I’ll never be as successful as other people.
  • I am not a business person.
  • I don’t have a business mindset.
  • Getting these clients is a fluke; I won’t get any more.
  • I don’t have enough experience against other people who have been doing this for decades.
  • I’m a newbie; no one will want to use my services.
The True Story
  • I am young and new at this, and I may stumble along the way, but I can view my failures as a learning experience and overcome them.
  • I can think of new ways to market myself and focus on professional customer service.
  • God has given me two clients to show me that He trusts me with this work.
  • I cannot measure my success as competing with other people but by gaining steady work.
  • I have one fully edited book behind me which shows I can get work done. I can finish what I start.
  • I will read and learn how to conduct a business and charge competitive rates to lure new clients.
Now, I just have to believe what’s true. Believing it is more difficult than writing it.
  1. November 8, 2011 at 10:45 AM

    I like the true story better.

    • Kassi
      November 8, 2011 at 11:50 AM

      A lot of me is fighting the truth of it.

  2. Kristen Gee
    November 8, 2011 at 11:21 AM

    False story: I’m a newbie; no one will want to use my services.

    True story: People get excited about fresh talent!!!

    • Kassi
      November 8, 2011 at 11:50 AM

      You’re a veteran with this, aren’t you? 🙂

  3. Lisa
    November 9, 2011 at 2:21 PM

    Thanks for the great reminder of having a positive perspective! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

