Home > Prompts, Writing > Favorite Concert Venue: Jones Beach Ampitheater, Wantagh, NY (Long Island)

Favorite Concert Venue: Jones Beach Ampitheater, Wantagh, NY (Long Island)

Jones Beach has an open outdoor venue so that when artists are performing on stage, you can see beyond them to the bay and the Atlantic Ocean. Sometimes, you might see boats sailing in the distance. When it’s a really hot, a cool breeze blows in and you can breath in the cool, salty air. As the sun sets, the blue sky changes into beautiful shades of red, orange, and purple before settling into a a dark indigo as the stage lights up the night. The last time I was there was for the Blink-182/No Doubt concert back in 2004. Didn’t seem that long ago but it was tons of fun and I loved every minute of it.

One of my first concerts was at Jones Beach. I’m not sure I remember my very first concert, but the one that stands out is Lilith Fair when I was 16. It was a concert that had the biggest impact on me: a celebration of women in music. Read more on my experience with Lilith Fair in “What Lilith has to do if it hopes to stay alive for next year…

  1. November 13, 2011 at 10:59 PM

    Great photo of Jones Beach Theater!

  1. May 3, 2014 at 4:37 PM
  2. May 5, 2014 at 4:06 PM

Leave a Reply

