Home > Christianity, Personal > Personal Failure and a Gospel Living Mindset

Personal Failure and a Gospel Living Mindset

I suffered a personal failure recently and found God challenging me on how I would respond to it. To be honest, my first instinct was to check out on life. But through the failure, I learned that I do not know how to handle failure. As a child, I was never taught how to handle failure. I was always taught that if at first you don’t succeed, you don’t accept failure as an option, you try harder.

I recently learned that’s not the way to handle things. The chart below is helping me to accept that failure is

  • a part of life
  • okay
  • a way to learn grace
  • a learning experience
  • something that reminds me I won’t be kicked out of God’s kingdom

Remembering my identity, who I am in Christ, will help me to navigate the ups and frequent downs of life as I should. Thereby assisting in me in trying to take the easy way out of life.

  1. October 16, 2011 at 5:00 PM

    This post reminds me when Jesus taught that if we lose our lives, we have found Life. Also, if we are weak, then God can be strong in us. The Gospel is full of paradox, which does not fit to what today’s world teaches. The world teaches us to be successful, to have self esteem, to be strong, to be a winner, to have more, etc. The Gospel teaches us the opposite, so that we can really be strong in God.

  1. October 15, 2011 at 3:27 PM

Leave a Reply

