Home > Goals > 2011 Resolutions… Goals… Targets… Likely Misses… (Revisited)

2011 Resolutions… Goals… Targets… Likely Misses… (Revisited)

On January 4, I promised to revisit my 2011 resolutions to see how I was doing. Most people have forgotten about their resolutions by now but I’ve mark it on my calendar to revisit these goals on June 4 (okay, I’m a day late) and December 4. Here they are in all their uncompleted glory:

2011 Resolutions/Goals

  1. Land an agent for my young adult novel. Postponed as I edit a book and revise my novel to make it even better.
  2. Exercise for at least 15 minutes 4 times a week. More like exercise for 10 minutes once every two weeks.
  3. Lose 25 lbs. Hah!
  4. Eat more salads and vegetables. I am eating more greens so I guess I’m on track so far…
  5. Read 75 (or more) books. According to Goodreads.com, I’m 10% behind my goal. I’ve only read 26 so far.
  6. Relax on the Sabbath (Sunday). [This one, by far, will be the most difficult one for me to do.] Fail. So far.
  7. Attend a writer’s conference. Done! Completed in January!
  8. Attend CCEF’s October conference in Louisville. I received a slew of invitations to weddings this year. This, unfortunately, may be an unrealized goal.
  9. Learn to be content with what I have and who I am. Working on this. It’s not easy.
  10. Spend more time with God through prayer and Bible reading. I’m on the wagon and then I’m off. Ongoing process.
  11. Attend morning church services at my home church at least twice a month. I’m a little less married to attending services at my home church than I am about getting to church twice a month.
  12. Write a post (nearly) every day on different aspects of enjoying God. I was really good with this for a while. I suppose I should start this back up. What haven’t I already said?
  13. Cut down on sweets aka be less addicted to sugar. I’ve cut back from 5-6 packets of Splenda to 2.5-3 packets—woot!
  14. Read through the Chronicles of Narnia. Oof, I haven’t even started yet.
  15. Hold scheduled write-ins at the library through the month of November for NaNoWriMo. I’ll see if this is possible. For right now, though, I can’t even think about November!

I’m not opposed to creating new goals and resolutions and dropping others as the year goes along. Upon today’s reevaluation of these resolutions from January, here are my goals are for December:

2011 Goals

  1. Land an agent for my young adult novel.  Build up clientele for book editing.
  2. Exercise for at least 15 minutes 4 times a week. Exercise for at least 20 minutes 2 times a week.
  3. Lose 25 lbs. Lose and keep off 10 lbs.
  4. Eat more salads and vegetables. 
  5. Complete the reading of 80 books. 
  6. Relax on the Sabbath (Sunday).
  7. Attend CCEF’s October conference in Louisville.
  8. Learn to be content with what I have and who I am. 
  9. Spend more time Focus on building discipline with God through prayer and Bible reading. 
  10. Attend morning church services at my home church at least twice a month.
  11. Write a post (nearly) every day once a week on different aspects of enjoying something that God is teaching/has taught me. 
  12. Cut down on sweets aka be less addicted to sugar. Designate specific days for dessert and stick to it.
  13. Read through three of the seven books in Chronicles of Narnia. 
  14. Hold scheduled write-ins at the library through the month of November for NaNoWriMo. Complete the rewrite of my novel before December 31.

In six months, I completed one of my goals. Many of these are attainable; others I don’t expect to actually complete as they are ongoing processes that will be on my annual list year after year (exercise and losing weight). But in the future, I hope that spotty church attendance becomes less of an issue.

  1. June 5, 2011 at 1:55 PM

    Re: the Chronicles of Narnia. I read these every year, and love them. (Having fallen in love with The Lion The Witch and The Wardrobe at 13… read that one even if you don’t read any of the others this year.) None of them are difficult reads but some people have trouble pushing through the second book, Prince Caspian. Stick with it, the next book, Voyage of the Dawn Treader, makes it all worthwhile.

    • Kassi
      June 5, 2011 at 2:31 PM

      Thanks. I haven’t read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe since 5th grade. Egads!

  2. Ren
    June 5, 2011 at 2:58 PM

    Just please, please, make sure to read them in published order (TL, tW, &tW first) not the stupid American reorder for chronology. I’m very passionate about that. Discovering Narnia with Lucy, with the spoilers of the reorder, is so much more beautiful.

    As for the resolutions, I think you’ve done pretty well, actually, not only in meeting the attainable ones as well as you could, but in having a perspective open to revision. Too many people realize after setting resolutions that they aren’t going to be able to meet them, and instead of revising, they give up. I think this is a much better approach to it all. I happen to think that the revision to #12 is a good one. Allows you the enjoyment of sweets while giving you boundaries that you can stick with. And it’s specific.

    Ok. That was a slightly disjointed comment. haha.

    • June 6, 2011 at 2:09 PM

      Agree with Ren, the chronological-reorder is just plain wrong! The CORRECT order is

      The Lion The Witch & The Wardrobe
      Prince Caspian
      The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
      The Silver Chair
      The Horse and His Boy
      The Magician’s Nephew
      The Last Battle

      • Kassi
        June 8, 2011 at 1:46 PM

        I guess consensus wins! Thanks for letting me know, ladies. I actually was going to tackle them in the reordered version.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

