Home > Motherhood > Children Don’t Belong to Moms; They Are A Loan from God

Children Don’t Belong to Moms; They Are A Loan from God

Image: phanlop88 / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

After hearing a good friend’s testimony on Saturday, I was reminded of an important truth. Maybe it wasn’t so much a reminder as it was a revelation: “my” children won’t belong to me. They will be “on loan” from God. As a result, only He only will choose when to lend me His creation. Just like library materials aren’t completely mine or Netflix movies aren’t mine but I’m fully responsible for them when they’re in my possession, so it is with the children bestowed upon me. I must remember that God is not withholding anything that is “rightfully mine.” (Technically, nothing is.) I should look at motherhood as a privilege God will allow me to partake in rather than something I inherently deserve simply because of my gender.

I hope I can remember this as I struggle with childlessness each month.

  1. March 8, 2011 at 7:59 AM

    I’ve never thought of it that way, but you are so RIGHT!!!! Thanks for Sharing this!!!

    • Kass
      March 8, 2011 at 5:05 PM

      You’re welcome. Glad it could be a help to you. 🙂

  2. July 9, 2012 at 8:25 AM

    That realization helped change my life. The more I realized my kids are not my own property, I took better care of them. It is amazing how many of us overlook it.

  3. Ellen
    April 5, 2014 at 11:59 AM

    I have given some thought over time, mainly because I have been around people who have mistreated and misguided. If all people, especially parents would think of it this way, that (their) children are a loan from God, then they would realize that they need to be more nurturing and help them to grow into responsible and prospering adults. Parents need to realize that they will get back what they put in when raising their children.

  4. Kass
    May 11, 2014 at 6:59 PM

    Reblogged this on This Journey Is My Own and commented:

    Just a reminder for myself on this Mother’s Day…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

