Home > Christianity > Day 4 in the Life of a Christian Atheist

Day 4 in the Life of a Christian Atheist

I grew no closer to atheism today. Perhaps my life is fully entrenched in Christianity. Tomorrow certainly won’t be any better as I start off my morning by meeting with my church pastor.

  • Talked to a Christian friend who I haven’t spoken to in AGES, which really blessed me and lifted my spirits for a bit
  • Spoke to a good friend from church who I consider my sister-in-Christ/accountability buddy and she always—and I mean ALWAYS—sets me straight when I’m feeling lousy and sorry for myself
  • Still listened to that Solo Piano Pandora station that plays hymns
  • Received encouragement from an online friend through comments and email
  • Promised to pray for continued success for a friend NEXT WEEK (somehow this strikes me as funny—delayed prayer)
  • Said “Praise the Lord” again when a slowpoke driver finally got off the one-lane road

I could go on and on about the things I didn’t do but since I’m supposed to be an “atheist” this week; it doesn’t matter, right? For this week, no, it doesn’t.

If only I could cut myself this much slack as a Christian. While a Christian should care about the things he or she does for God each day, something’s wrong if that Christian obsesses about it. (Something I tend to do.) More of Mary and less of Martha.

Maybe I should be a Christian atheist for a little bit longer… but I can’t resist thanking God for a somewhat enjoyable birthday.

  1. February 3, 2011 at 9:31 AM

    Happy (belated) birthday! Thanks as always for sharing. I’m not sure that it’s so much that “your life is entrenched in Christianity” as that He promises nothing can snatch us out of His hand. 🙂 It appears you can’t squelch the Spirit in you, try as you might.

    May this experiment help you to find your rest in Him (What, after all, can we really do “for God?” With a heart to honor Him, one hopes. To His glory, sure, but even then it’s only possible if His Spirit enables us. But *for* Him? Like He needs *us* to accomplish His ends? We need to cut ourselves a break… and recognize that it’s the Accuser and not God who makes us feel like we’re failing at some arbitrary list of “shoulds.”) and may that rest help you to rediscover His joy in your heart!

    A little more Mary and a little less Martha, indeed.

    • Kass
      February 3, 2011 at 5:16 PM

      I very much agree.

      Thank you for the birthday wishes!

  2. February 6, 2011 at 7:30 PM

    yeah, i was going to say the same thing. i think maybe your experiment was not so much an experiment in atheism, but an experiment in reformed theology…lol. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

