Home > Christianity > Day 2 in the Life of a Christian Atheist

Day 2 in the Life of a Christian Atheist

So far, I’m not very good at the atheist part of my day. I’m not actually trying to change anything I do; I’m just believing in God but living as though He doesn’t exist (as I usually do). But again, somehow Christianity crept up on me in different ways:

  • Spent 2 hours talking to my Christian counselor about God and what He does in our lives
  • Sat through a prayer before I ate at dinner
  • Said “Lord, have mercy” after a long and tiring day (hey, it wasn’t “Big Bang!, have mercy”)
  • A kind person on Twitter promised to pray for me today
  • Still listening to that Pandora Solo Piano station I keep mentioning (I have Pandora One so I listen to it, er, 24/7)

To celebrate my Christian Atheism, I am going to read my daily devotional plans and keep plugging away at the Bonhoeffer book. I’m a better Christian when I try NOT to be. Go figure.

I’m still mad at God though.

  1. January 31, 2011 at 11:44 PM

    LOL @ “I’m a better Christian when I try NOT to be.”

    As you’re doing this, I am struck by the idea of stripping away all of our rituals… all the “doing” of Christianity, in favor of letting the Spirit who lives in us do the doing. I mean, getting a chance to be aware that He’s the One that really does the doing in us. I mean… well maybe you know what I mean. Plus paying so much attention to the Not Doing sort of brings it all into focus and awareness, as opposed to just going through the day-to-day without giving God a thought (“Respectable Sins” describes it as godlessness, of which I am more prone too than I’d like).

    Looking forward to the next installment of your experiment.

  2. I Need to Desire God
    March 8, 2011 at 3:06 PM

    i so can relate to your thoughts !

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

