Home > 365+ Days of Enjoying God, Christianity > Day 29 of Enjoying God: Creativity

Day 29 of Enjoying God: Creativity

I never thought about creativity as a way to enjoy God but why not? Since I believe that God is the creator of all things, I also believe He’s the ultimate source of all things creative.

For example, God has shown Himself to be a spectacular artist in nature who constantly receives rave reviews and an eloquent writer (by inspiration of the Holy Spirit) through men.

So why would it be odd for me to enjoy one of the gifts that God gave me with the written word?

Today I had a rare burst of creativity. I got to to work on revising my manuscript, totally revamping the voice and attitude of my main character. I’m happier with Chapter 1 than I’ve ever been since I first wrote the novel in November 2007. And I owe it all to God. I recognize that the same God who painted beautiful sunrises and sunsets with various shades of color can also impart to me the ability to craft beautiful scenes with varying degrees of intensity. I’m thankful for the days when creativity flows from my brain to my fingers and onto the computer screen without intensive thought. (Writer’s block is a bear and something I hope not to experience anytime soon.)

Of course, I always discover these things about God just before midnight—the deadline for my daily posts. Maybe one day I’ll learn something about God (and post it) before 7 in the evening.

  1. January 26, 2011 at 7:50 AM

    Nice! I also am a religious person, but, for the most part, my religion is like the hidden structure that lies below the flesh that identifies me as a person. In other words, my appearance, and to a lesser extent, my actions, do not give up my religious convictions.

    In your first sentence you have stripped the flesh from my bones, as I stand naked before you. Take care!

    “I never thought about creativity as a way to enjoy God but why not? Since I believe that God is the creator of all things, I also believe He’s the ultimate source of all things creative.”

  2. Ren
    January 26, 2011 at 10:39 AM

    Dorothy Sayers was big about viewing creativity as a way to understand and reflect the character of God. The premise of The Mind of the Maker is that since prior to reading that humans are made in the image of God, we read entirely of Him creating, creativity in us must be a major part of what it means to be in the image of God. Quite interesting. It really changed the way I viewed both God and my passion for creativity and performance. It was good to be reminded of that today.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

