Home > 365+ Days of Enjoying God, Christianity > Day 21 of Enjoying God: All-sufficient, all-bountiful

Day 21 of Enjoying God: All-sufficient, all-bountiful

I left off yesterday quoting Jesus at the end of Matthew 6:

For this reason I say to you, do not be worried about your life, as to what you will eat or what you will drink; nor for your body, as to what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? Look at the birds of the air, that they do not sow, nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not worth much more than they? And who of you by being worried can add a single hour to his life? And why are you worried about clothing? … For the Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; for your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. —Matthew 6:25-34

Right now, I’m facing a crossroads in my life. I’m trying to decide whether I’m going to live my life for money or live my life for God. I don’t want the fact that my car keeps breaking down to determine how I run my life. I don’t want the fact that I’ve got bills piling up (because that money keeps being funneled into the car) to keep me from doing what a) I think God wants me to do and b) also makes me happy.

It is during this time that I am trying very hard to trust in God for everything I need. Not necessarily what I want but what I need. I may sound pretty pious but it’s a very difficult thing to follow through. I’m currently debating shelving my book (which I really don’t want to do), getting a third job, trying to figure out where I can cut costs to maximize profit, so to speak. All in all, I’m freaking out.

But Jesus admonishes me to seek first God’s kingdom and God’s righteousness and anything else I need will be taken care of. Jesus also admonishes me not to worry about tomorrow. But boy, is tomorrow’s trouble troubling me today.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

