Home > 365+ Days of Enjoying God, Christianity > Day 9 of Enjoying God: Healer

Day 9 of Enjoying God: Healer

I had a nasty migraine today that made me nauseous and only got worse as I traveled 3 hours from NY back to PA. (Had to pull over in Brooklyn because I thought I was going to puke.) During that time, I failed to ask God to help me. I failed to ask God to use an attribute of His to assist me in time of need.

There’s no guarantee that God would have; in spite of forgetting to cry out for help, soon after I arrived home and rested for an hour, I felt better. But I missed out on an opportunity to explore an attribute of God—healer and great physician.

In Exodus 15:26, God is referred to as Jehovah-rophe or Jehovah-Raphah transliterated as “the Lord who heals.” Throughout the gospels, Jesus demonstrated this as he went from town to town performing signs and miracles of healing. The first line of treatment is to seek immediate medical attention (Mark 5:25-26) then when all else fails, seek the Lord for help (Mark 5:27-34).

I hope to remember this when I face sickness or when praying for others dealing with sickness.

  1. Michelle Wood
    January 2, 2011 at 10:24 PM

    I agree; turning to God as the great physician should always be on our minds, and not just as the last resort. 🙂

    • Kass
      January 2, 2011 at 10:54 PM

      Well, definitely not as a last resort but I guess I didn’t do a very good job in distinguishing myself from Christian Scientists who only pray and disregard immediate medication attention via medicine, doctors, etc.

      🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

