Home > 365+ Days of Enjoying God, Christianity > Day 5 of Enjoying God: Goodness

Day 5 of Enjoying God: Goodness

December 29, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Today I went to Manhattan, NY with my husband and in-laws to see Macy*s Herald Square, the Rockettes Christmas Spectacular, the tree at Rockefeller Center, and have lunch at the Stage Deli. I love New York City and I love sharing NYC with others so when I discovered my mother-in-law wanted to see the Rockettes, I had no qualms taking her. (Hey, it’s a NYC tradition!)

After my in-laws brought me and my husband to our home after our very long and busy day, I saw tears in my mother-in-law’s eyes and I knew that she was grateful for the day and it meant something special to her. Despite the fact that my love for the Rockettes at 28 isn’t what it was at 8, by taking time out of my day to share something that meant so much to her, I was learning how to be good and to share that goodness with others.

God’s goodness goes beyond the Rockettes, money, and pretty decorations although the nice thing is, that can be a part of it. In enjoying God, I am able to enjoy things He has allowed me to take part in. Just as my in-laws graciously treated my husband and I to a fabulous New York deli meal through their goodness, God graciously provides for and meets wants and needs that I never think to ask for. God is beyond materially good; He’s spiritually good but I think Christians who try to kid themselves about the different ways God makes His presence (and presents!) known are missing out on one way to enjoy God.

  1. December 30, 2010 at 12:25 PM

    The Macy’s at Herald Square truly is amazing around the holidays. It’s really nice to hear that your mother-in-law enjoyed not just the Rockettes, but creating a memory with you as a her daughter. It’s important that we cherish the little things to too often get overlooked.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

