Home > 365+ Days of Enjoying God, Christianity > Day 3 of Enjoying God: Beauty

Day 3 of Enjoying God: Beauty

December 27, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

A sample "before"---it truly looked worse than this!

I went to the hair salon tonight with my hair looking “a hot mess” (as the slang goes). I haven’t been taking care of it for the past month like I should because I’d been too busy working two jobs, kept rescheduling my appointment, and was too depressed to keep it up on my own. But my hairdresser knew none of that. All she knew was that my hair looked awful and was in dire need of repair. When she was done, my hair looked amazing. She did a job I could have never done on my own. I had to rely on her skilled hands to craft a disaster into something beautiful. (You know where I’m going with this, right?)

After!

 

God does something similar albeit on a much bigger scale and with more important things than hair. God sees the disaster of my natural heart with its sinful jealousy, strife, grumbling, and bitterness, and somehow takes that, cuts away the ugly layers of who I am to craft me into someone beautiful.

  • Someone who cares more about others than herself
  • Someone who thinks twice before gossiping
  • Someone who tries to do things for others because it means so much to them

In paying attention to the everyday, seemingly mundane things and moments of my life, I am finding ways to know and enjoy God. Who knew that God could use something as superficial as a well-coiffed hairstyle to remind me how supremely beautiful He is… and how only He can make me divinely beautiful?

  1. chris
    December 27, 2010 at 11:32 PM

    Your hair looks great but its you inner beauty that I see all the time. I couldn’t ask for a more “beautiful” daughter in law, you mean so much to me. THANK YOU!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

