Home > 365+ Days of Enjoying God, Christianity > 365+ Days of Enjoying God

365+ Days of Enjoying God

December 24, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments


Since joining the PCA (Presbyterian Church in America) in 2007, I have been meditating on the answer to the first question of the Westminster Shorter Catechism:

Q: What is the chief end of man?

A: Man’s chief end is to glorify God, and to enjoy Him forever.

There are two parts to this answer: (1) glorify God, (2) enjoy Him forever. I’ve never been baffled much by the first part but the second part has always left me stymied. From my February 2010 entry:

I know how to enjoy His creation but enjoying Him is an entirely different matter.

Recently, it dawned on me: the way to enjoy God is by knowing Him and having an active, personal relationship with Him.

How do I enjoy the people I care about? I enjoy them through their qualities or attributes and not necessarily the things that they do for me (contrary to how I often approach God). For example, I enjoy being around my husband and spending time with him because he’s funny, smart, and kind; not necessarily because he brings me a latte when I want him to (although that IS a bonus).

As a result, I realized the way for me to enjoy God (and fully understand the second part to the first answer of the catechism) is to know, see, and experience God’s attributes and who He is in relationship to me. Here is a Biblical list of some of God’s attributes (with the help of The Navigators website):

  1. Strong, powerful, mighty (Genesis 17:7-8); omnipotent (Jeremiah 32:17-18, 26-27)
  2. Lord and ruler of me and all things; Supreme authority over the universal church (II Samuel 7:18-20; Ephesians 1:22-23)
  3. Intercessor (Hebrews 4:14-16)
  4. Father and creator of everyone (Romans 8:15-17)
  5. All-sufficient, all-bountiful: the ultimate source of blessings, fruitfulness, and fullness (Genesis 49:22-26)
  6. Comforter (II Corinthians 1:3-4)
  7. Full of grace, or grace-giving (Ephesians 1:5-8)
  8. Righteously wrathful: never capricious, self-indulgent, or irritable like human anger (Nahum 1:2-8)
  9. Wise (Proverbs 3:19-20)
  10. Faithful (Psalm 89:1-8)
  11. “A banner”: the One to Whom we announce our thanks (Exodus 17:8-15)
  12. Sovereign; in control of all (I Chronicles 29:11-13)
  13. Merciful, compassionate (Deuteronomy 4:29-31)
  14. Omniscient (Psalm 139:1-6)
  15. Omnipresent (Psalm 139:7-12)
  16. Loving (I John 4:7-10)
  17. Immutable; unchanging (Psalm 102:25-28)
  18. Transcendent; beyond comprehension (Psalm 113:4-5)
  19. Just (Psalm 75:1-7)
  20. Holy (Revelation 4:8-11)
  21. Healer: physically, spiritually, and morally (Exodus 15:22-26)
  22. Jehovah: Independent being (Exodus 3:13-15); self-sufficient (Acts 17:24-28)
  23. Provider (Genesis 22:9-14)
  24. Full of peace, or peace-giving (Judges 6:16-24)
  25. Good, kind, benevolent, full of good will (Psalm 119:65-72)
  26. Infinite, beyond measurement (Romans 11:33)
  27. Sanctifier (Leviticus 20:7-8)

There are other things that aren’t listed here about God that I think are important: how he’s patient, forgiving, and slow to anger. I suppose I should list all the fruits of the Spirit as well because those are things that come from God but perhaps it’s better to just discover these things over time and add to the list rather than to try figure everything out tonight.

So the goal, beginning on December 25 (Christmas!), is to list one way I’ve enjoyed God within the previous 24 hours of the post and continue posting on this topic for a FULL YEAR (and because I’m a completionist, till December 31, 2011). This isn’t for anyone’s benefit but my own. I hope two things will come out of it:

  1. It forces me to post daily. (the superficial)
  2. I learn how to enjoy God, thereby fully gaining an understanding of how to possibly “enjoy Him forever.” (the eternal)

No guarantees I’ll be good at this. No guarantees I’ll get this right. No guarantees I won’t miss posting (but with an iPhone now, I have little excuse). However, it’s a start and I hope God honors my endeavor and allows me to grow closer to Him through the coming year.

(Many thanks to Pastor Craig Groeschel, author of The Christian Atheist, who God used to direct me to the correct path. Chapter 4 on prayer and Chapter 8 on worry were especially helpful.)

  1. January 2, 2015 at 12:11 AM

    Whether participating a traditional education or opting for a online education program, mom and dad going back to higher education benefit
    greatly from the service and determination of family members.

  2. Ali
    January 22, 2015 at 1:41 AM

    As pre-mentioned these vary depending on what type of card you have.
    If you cannot afford to rent a good limo, then you might want to rethink your transportation choices entirely.
    The interiors of Lincoln Town Car Stretch Limousine are
    same to those of Stretch Hummer Limousine.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

