Home > Personal > The Absence of Blogging & Regular Writing

The Absence of Blogging & Regular Writing

September 9, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I miss blogging regularly like I used to 4 years ago. Sometimes I have things to say. Sometimes I don’t. I like to write about semi-profound things on this blog rather than ramble about my kids and my dog.

Oh wait, I don’t have either of those things.

[awkward pause]

Currently the things taking up my time include:

– A new job (I’m a librarian! Whee!)
– Novel revisions (A 22-week self-paced course in which I’m already 5 weeks behind! Whee!)
– Preparations for my grandmother’s centenarian celebration (I’m sending out the invitations 7 weeks before the event and asking people to RSVP in no later than 5 weeks! Whee!)

Some sarcasm present but honestly, I’m very fortunate to have a job I love to pieces, a novel with a story I love (even if it’s poorly written), and a dear grandmother who is nearing 100 years.

My fingers have been itching to write but now that I’m sitting at a computer and typing, my mind draws a blank. Perhaps I could rant about how poor I am with time management but I have no solutions to that. I’d like to write something a bit more serious (like how I support bipolar disorder being covered under the Americans with Disabilities Act) but I lack the brainpower for that right now. (And besides, it belongs on my rarely updated mental health blog, Depression Introspection.)

My life is busy but I can offer nothing of creative, social, political, or theological interest at the moment. Sure, there’s supposed mosques near Ground Zero, Koran burnings scheduled, and the New York Times conceding they’ll eventually stop printing hard copies of their paper soon, but these are only facts I can rattle off to you and I have little mental fortitude to offer any wit or commentary on any of these things. And I’m in no mood to rehash my already beaten-to-death topics on gay rights, infant baptism, and what dissatisfies me currently in life.

So all I’m trying to say is, I’m still alive, my fingers were itching to write (instead of edit, for once), and I have nothing of value to say.

Categories: Personal
  1. September 9, 2010 at 11:57 PM

    I always hate it when I feel the urge to blog, log onto Blogger and then *crickets*. Happens more times then I would care to admit.

    I’m so happy that you have so many positive things going on right now. I’m glad you are enjoying your job (even though I am totally jealous) and its great that you are actually editing your novel rather than staring at the last sentence you just wrote for two days without adding to it.

    • Kass
      September 12, 2010 at 10:58 AM

      Thanks, svn. Since you are a book review writer, maybe you should consider looking into doing something similar? I think you read more than I do!

  2. September 9, 2010 at 11:59 PM

    I have this thing where I think of complicated blog ideas and start fleshing them out in my mind just as I’m about to fall asleep. This instigates the inevitable battle: do I pop open the lappy and jot down my ideas, waking myself back up and possibly delaying onset of sleep when I return to the pillow? or do I repeat my ideas over to myself until I fall asleep and hope to remember it all in the morning? Sometimes I’d rather not come up with the idea. haha.

    Actual attempt to be helpful: do a ten minute free write a lá Chapman–you must write continuously about whatever comes to mind for ten solid minutes–and see what pops out. You might unearth an idea in the ramble. 🙂

    • Kass
      September 12, 2010 at 11:00 AM

      I have tried so hard to forget Chapman existed, Renée! I’m having nightmares again! Aaah!

      But finding the time for those 10 minutes, that’s another thing…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

