Home > Race > The business of Black hair

The business of Black hair

I don’t like to spend a lot of time on my hair. I’m pretty “hair dumb” for a black woman, which really sucks because I spend a lot of time and money on getting other people to make me look pretty. Not as bad as the woman in the video, though, who spends 40 hours a week and upwards to $25K a year.

An interesting stat: Black women make up 6.5% of the American population but purchase up to 40% of ALL haircare products. What a demographic!

If you can’t see the video, click on this link.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "The business of Black hair", posted with vodpod

  1. October 8, 2009 at 7:35 PM

    Girl, I may not be the most satisfied with my hair, but I know what a lot of black girls and women go through to have nice hair. That figure isn’t surprising to me at all. It is rather unfair, though, that trends affect the cost black women end up putting into haircare far, far more than it affects women of any other ethnicity.

    • Kass
      October 8, 2009 at 7:44 PM

      Makes me wonder why black women are so “hair” crazy. I’m just inept at styling my hair.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

