Home > Music > The Top 20 Lite Songs of 1996

The Top 20 Lite Songs of 1996

I’m a writer. Have been since I was 6 years old. And no, I don’t mean that I’ve been writing since I was 6. I wrote my first book when I was 6, complete with a beginning, a middle, and an end. I sent it off for a publishing contest and it was rejected. But that was only the beginning.

So fast forward 21 years later and I find myself sitting at my computer desk, sifting through looseleaf and printed computer pages trying to find a story idea for NaNoWriMo—an event I spend an entire year anticipating. On one side of looseleaf, I discover a list of names that belong to a high school series story that’s been brewing in my head since sixth grade. On the other side I discover…

… a list of the Top 20 Most Requested Lite Songs for 1996. (I’m assuming I was listening to New York’s 106.7 Lite FM at the time.) So here it is, for your useless amusement and casual curiosity. The bolded ones were indicated as my favorites at the time.

20. Have I Told You Lately?: Rod Stewart

Mary Chapin Carpenter19. The Lady in Red: Chris DeBurgh

18. Grow Old With Me: Mary Chapin Carpenter (originally written by John Lennon)

17. Take Forever Tonight: Crystal Bernard & Peter Cetera

16. One Sweet Day: Mariah Carey & Boyz II Men

15. I Swear: All-4-One

14. Unchained Melody: Righteous Brotheres

13. Beautiful in My Eyes: Joshua Kadison

12. Open Arms: Journey

11. Wind Beneath My Wings: Bette Midler

10. Can’t We Try?: Yvonda Shephard & Dan Hill

9. That’s What Friends Are For: Dionne Warwick & Friends

8. I Could Fall in Love: Selena

7. You’re the Inspiration: Chicago

6. Everything I Do (I Do It For You): Bryan Adams

5. I Will Always Love You: Whitney Houston

4. Endless Love: Lionel Richie & Diana Ross

Whitney Houston and Jermaine Jackson3. Always and Forever: Heatwave

2. Because You Loved Me: Celine Dion

1. If You Say My Eyes Are Beautiful: Jermaine Jackson & Whitney Houston

Let it be known I can’t stand “Wind Beneath My Wings” at all anymore.

Perhaps someone will stumble upon this post wondering what the popular songs of 1996 were. Well, hope this satiated your dying curiosity. As for the list of names on the other side of that looseleaf, perhaps you’ll find them in a published book one day.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 30, 2011 at 2:26 AM

Leave a Reply

