Home > Identity, Personal > In search of an identity… location.

In search of an identity… location.

September 9, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Am I still a New Yorker or can I legitimately call myself a Philadelphian now?

I was born and raised in New York for 23 years. However, I’ve lived in suburban Philadelphia for the past 3 years with no plans to move anytime soon. I wouldn’t even mind retiring here.

Am I displaced? Can I still call New York home even though I may never live there again? Can I claim myself as a transplanted Philadelphian even though I hate the Mummers and the Philly Phanatic scares me?

What does it mean to have pride from where you live? A waste of energy? A waste of time?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

