Home > Identity, Personal, Quotes > In search of an identity… career.

In search of an identity… career.

September 8, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I always tied my identity to what I did for a living. Americans are notorious for doing this.

Stranger: So tell me a little bit about yourself.

Me: Well, I’m a freelancer. I edit, proofread, and write articles.

I need to break the notion that I am my job. Kass does not equal writer.

I have this bad tendency to equate my self-worth to my accomplishments and achievements. The ironic thing is that my worth does not come from what I’ve accomplished or achieved but what Christ has already accomplished and achieved for all of mankind (including me!).

“Do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price.” — I Corinthians 6:19-20

  1. September 8, 2009 at 8:31 PM

    Well said, Kass!

    That has to the be the foundation for our identity. We can have careers, but our personhood isn’t defined by how we make money or even by our hobbies and talents. It’s defined by who owns our soul 🙂

  2. September 8, 2009 at 8:47 PM

    so true. something i struggle with as a mom. you know, not having a ‘real job’ therefore who am i?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

